The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal."A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situ

In the showed letter, the author makes the claim that birth order has an apparent effecting on an individual's level of stimulation, according to study done on rhesus monkeys. Asserting that this study showed first born monkeys in stimulating situations had higher levels of cortisol than their younger counterparts. While it is tempting to believe these arguments based on the information presented by the author, it would be fallacious to do so. And the argument is not entirely logically convincing, since it ignores certain crucial assumptions.

First, the author mentions that the study was conducted with eighteen rhesus monkeys, but what the author fails to mention are the validity and generalizability of these study results. The argument assumes that the sample could be representative, while the study was only conducted on rhesus monkeys, which is just one kind of monkeys, and the research of eighteen monkeys was not a large enough sample size to produce an efficacy statistic and valid results. Therefore, the study is only assumed to be, and not factually, valid and generalizable.

Furthermore, the author notes that the first born monkeys produced twice as much cortisol in stimulative situations as did their younger siblings, but he does not state how many stimulating situations were observed or how cortisol levels were measured. Without additional information, it cannot be assumed that enough stimulating situations were observed to garner accurate and generalizable results. These fallacies leave open the interpretation of validity of the results that author's assertion is based upon.

Third, the argument is not completely sound. The evidence in support of the conclusion is not sufficient to support the conclusion of the argument because it does not address the correlation between the first born human and the first born monkey, which these individuals are independent, when the author gives the example to prove his argument. In addition, the author did not mention whether the released cortisol in stimulating situations of firstborn human is higher than his younger siblings, we do not have any information about that. And moreover, the writer does not allude to how the researchers measured, recorded, or tracked the birth order of the rhesus monkeys or the number of pregnancies in the rhesus mothers. A possible scenario is that the researchers did not properly identify the birth order of the monkeys, altering, severely, the accuracy of the data collected.

Ultimately, the argument might have been strengthened by providing detail information about how the researchers conducted and it would be plausible to conclude for the rhesus monkey not for all. Because it is easy to see that there are still some omissions in the argument which does not tackle as a result it leaves the reader questioning, not only, the accuracy of such a statement, but also the accuracy with which the study was conducted and the validity and generalizability of any data collected.