Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

There is no shortage of opinions about if countries should preserve their remaining wilderness area, which makes this issue a contentious one. While each view on this topic has its merits and weakness, I strongly believe that nations have taken responsibility of keeping these areas untouched, mainly because of the benefits from preserve biodiversity and contribute to the sustainable development. Furthermore, there are some ways to combine between conservation of wildlife species and economic gain by the tourism industry.

First of all, in the 21st century, there is no room to dirty economic exploitation of any natural resources. Indeed, there is world call for preservation and investment in clean technologies and production approaches, the biodiversity that some of these areas could be considered as a treasure for researchers on new medicines as well as to biology. For example, in Vietnam, the scientists have just released a breakthrough discovery Son Doang cave, considered as one of the most immense caves in the world because it is likely to a primitive cave so many biologists, geographers, journalists, and explorers have come to research. Following the newest science reports, Son Doang cave in where there are more than 100 species which have undiscovered, has a unique environment and this region have been found different new sources for medicine. As a result, Son Doang has been a national legacy and needed to preserve and protected at the highest level.

Secondly, wilderness areas can represent an excellent source of revenues for any country. In fact, truly wild ecosystems have been of a great benefit to attract many enthusiasts for natural life. The tourism industry has the power to transform a decision to preserve these areas in a highly profitable business model, where the more untouched is wild forest, the more attractive and profitable it is. For example, some areas of the Amazon forest in Brazil are rich in biodiversity resources, but their exploitation by the tourism industry has made these areas profitable enough to make viable to keep them well-preserved.

On the other hand, some people may argue that in countries where there is lack of cultivable areas for farming activities which need take a top priority and the preservation of wilderness areas should be put in second place. Nevertheless, this argument is not entirely logically convincing. First of the reasons is that the great increase in farming production could be based on using of intense technology in production. has made possible to obtain a big amount of grains even in small areas. Moreover, the countries which do not have enough space for agriculture, but vast preserved wilderness areas such as some countries in Africa, for instance, should take this as comparative advantages and exploit the tourism and potential research of their areas to differentiate themselves in the globalized world. In this way, they would gain money from tourism and researchers in their wild forest and use it to import grains from the other countries.

In conclusion, obviously that the government should pass the laws more caring about wilderness areas and preserve the biodiversity, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain. However, there are some issues in some countries where now they still have not the ability to supply the necessary for their citizens, but it could be solved by the combination of the economic gain from tourism and researching in these wilderness areas and, domestic needs.