The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author alleges that first-born child would produce the stress hormone, cortisol, twice as much as younger children while they are facing an unfamiliar monkey. Therefore, the author analyzes the study and concludes that there is the effect of birth order that the first born child would show higher level of higher hormone than younger siblings when encountering a simulating situation. Even though the study seems fascinating in terms of creating new theory and idea, there are several flaws that other researchers can rebut and bring out alternative explanation or opposite opinions.

First of all, the author did not explain how the result from the study with rhesus monkeys would be able to apply into the conditions of humans. It would be great if that is possible to apply the results into human condition without much consideration because it is always controversial to conduct studies on humans due to ethical consideration of scientific studies. However, the author never delineates any possibilities that could produce significant difference when the results are applied into humans. Even though rhesus monkeys are seen frequently that they are genetically similar to humans, humans are more evolved and possess things that rhesus monkeys do not have such as more complex psychological abilities and ability of cultural acquisition. it is obvious that humans are aware of birth order in our society and family circumstance. it is not certain that rhesus monkeys would be also conscious of their birth order as an individual being. Therefore, it is ambiguous that the level of hormone would increase because of their awareness of birth order or because they are simply facing with an unfamiliar person or monkey. Therefore, the author delineates the borderline between humans and monkey in term of psychological processes and cultural perspective.

Especially in psychological studies, it is important to distinguish behaviors that might seem similar but have totally different implication that those behaviors have. In both observations between humans and monkeys, the author has observed different two behaviors that seem similar but could have different application by those behaviors. First, in rhesus monkey study, the level of cortisol was measured when encountered with an unfamiliar monkey. However, In the case of human, the researchers observed when parents were absent. In order to be consistent in both study, the author should use the same stimulation to produce the most accurate results. it would be possible the first born rhesus monkeys would have shown nothing change in their stress hormone when their parents were absent even though the level of hormone is just increased specifically during facing with an unfamiliar monkeys which behavior may be analyzed in different ways. Additionally, in terms of implication between the two behaviors, the absence of parents are known as a symbol of missing guardians who protect from dangers.

There are also some flaws in the study where the author never depicts some other important factors that could fade out the experimental factors. There are some substantial factors that are strongly related to the stress hormone stimulation such as personality, life experiences, and age. It could be possible that the first-born monkey had vulnerable personalities that are less resistant toward stress stimulations so the study results showed that the effect of birth order exist even though it does not. Also, animals and humans all are similar abilities that they are accustomed within environment they are living. Those life experience regulate their stress hormone as well. Therefore, it is feasible that the mother monkey during the first child pregnancy was more stressed out because she does not have experience with having a child before and would not know what would happen and what kind of feeling she would have during her pregnancy.

In order to rebut any alternative explanations and flaws in the study design and results, the author should consider other factors that could affect the stress hormone regarding the effect of birth order. It should contain certain operation definition of simulating situation so that those different behavior observation can be reasonable in the studies. Also, it should be described how the study with monkeys can be parallel with human behaviors and physiological reactions in stimulating situations.