"A recent study rating 300 male and female advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than six hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. On the basis of this study, we recommend that businesses hire only people who need less than six hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author alleges that the businesses should hire only people who sleep less than six hours per night because in the previous survey, the executives who succeeded and produced higher profit were strongly associated with the number of sleep hour less than six hours per night. However, the number of sleep hour sounds hardly logical that the reduced amount of sleep would always lead to succeed at people’s work. The author should investigate and evaluate other possible factors that are reasonably associated with the successful executives than just the amount of sleep per night.

By reducing the amount of sleep, it does not automatically bring people to be successful in their work. However, in order to complete work in time or produce higher amount of work, it is often necessary to lessen sleep to finish work on time. Even though it sounds understandable if a successful person sleeps a short amount of hour because he/she is passionate about work and wants to complete their work within the deadline. However, it does not sound logical when it comes as all the people who sleep less than six hours would succeed for their work. The author should be careful in the result of the survey. The association founding eludes that successful people might even shorten sleep hours in order to be more productive, but the association is not a causal relationship that the sleep hours do not always lead everyone successful. Therefore, it would be dangerous to hire by looking at their hours of sleep per night.

There are many other characteristics or variations that successful people frequently have. One of example can be the difference of personality. It is important to have diligent personalities to be successful in work. Because of the executives’ personalities, they are more likely to be eager to finish the work so it often comes to shorten the amount of sleep and other leisure time to be done with task. Also, the degree of work aptitude and how much people feel their jobs fit with them would increase work productivities that eventually may lead them successful career.

Additionally, Scientific research has been showing that sleep deprivation would cause a number of health issue and decrease the ability of task complement and attention. Therefore, there are some people who sleep more than six hours but are still successful at work. However, the author did not look at those people who slept more than six hours. Individuals have different biological condition. Some people feel refresh with a short amount of sleep while some other people should take longer than six hours to feel fully recharged. Therefore, without considering other feasible factors that may contribute to people who are successful at work, the association between the average hour of sleep and being successful at work cannot be guaranteed.

In sum, looking at only one variable can be dangerous to conclude any results even though the association turns out strongly correlation between hours of sleep and the degree of being successful at the firm. Furthermore, shortening hours of sleep does not cause people to be productive but to become more inattentive according to recent scientific research. The author should scrutiny any other variable that are logically related to the executive who yielded higher profit and faster growth than others.