The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

The recommendation suggests that, since the adult population is increasing more funds should be available for city facilities and programs. Additionally, the recommendation also specifies the number of birth rates and concludes by saying that the number of childbirths are decreasing gradually. So, the funds for education can be cut down during the next decade. Additionally, it also specifies that funding for athletic playing activities and recreational facilities can be reduced. There is no sufficient evidence for the information provided in the argument which can weaken the argument. If the following evidence is provided, it could strengthen the argument.

To begin with, there is no strong evidence that supports the fact that, as the birth rate decreases, the number of students enrolled in a public school will also decrease. The situation could have been that, since some backward classes were not aware of the benefits of education five years go, they didn't enrol their children in school. And as time passed, such parents are noticing the benefits of education and are enrolling their children to school. So, along with statistics for birth rates, if the statistics for the number of students enrolled in public schools is also provided, this would strengthen the argument by supporting the statement that, as birth rates decrease, the number of students enrolled also decreases.

The recommendation suggests that the money cut off from education can be inturn used for city facilities and programs, since, the population of adults is on the rise. This seriously weakens the argument, because it is nowhere mentioned, how the population of adults is going to increase. It only states that birth rates are decreasing and the recommendation committee expects that there would be an adult population rise. The argument could be strengthed by stating that how the adult population is rocketing up. So, as the adult population is increasing, these additional funds can bolster the city programs.

The aforementioned suggestions could provide the argument with a piece of much-needed evidence, that, since the birth rates are decreasing and based on the number of students enrolled in the school, the educational funds can be decreased and since the adult population is on the rise, city programs can enjoy the cut off funds.