The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument has many unwarranted assumptions which if proved wrong, could prove fatal regarding the time devoted to the weather and local news.

Firstly, there is no statistical evidence that specifies the number of complaints received. There might be a million people living in the country, out of which a mere thousand people complained. And in that, a majority of the people complained regarding the local and weather news. Concrete numbers for the number of complaints or moreover a rato of complaints to the total population should be given. It is blindly assumed that all the citizens are complaining and most of those complaints are about local and weather news. The viewers who did not complain might be really liking the extended timing for the national news. Upon reinstating the old timings could result in loss of these viewers.

Secondly, no strong reason is stated for the cancellation of the night shows. It is plausible that the number of viewers for these night shows has been decreasing incrementally and due to which they have decided to cancel their contract with the television station. If a relationship between the cancelling of the night show and reduction of time for the local and weather shows is provided, a reasonable conclusion can be drawn and based on that the decision of restoring the local or weather news channels could be discussed.

Finally, with very little affirmation, the television station has come to an ultimatum of restoring the time for local and weather channels. There is no proof that upon restoring the old things, there would be an increase in the number of viewers. Based on the situation, a year go, current decisions can not be made. It is possible that even after restoring the old timings there is no increment in the number of viewers. So, if it is proved that after restoring the timings there will be a rise in the number of viewers, the decision can be made. It can be done by providing results of surveys or interviewing regarding their decision.

To conclude, if no concrete evidence is provided. the argument as a whole can disprove the conclusion and result in losses in various ways.