A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Basic knowledge is required for any person. No one can jump from the first step to the last step. So, I agree with the statement that the same basic education is required for students all over the nation.

Firstly, a foundation is required for anything to be constructed. Similarly, even in the case of education, foundational knowledge of stuff is required for any individual to progress further in education. And since, all are neophytes when they are born, each and every person is expected to have some basic knowledge of how the world works. So, a united curriculum for the whole nation would fulfil this requirement rather than each and every school choosing a varied curriculum. Although teaching everyone the same curriculum would ultimately lead every child to think in one particular way, with no out-of-the-box thinking. This could have consequences in the future.

Furthermore, the same curriculum would abate the need for various competitive exams. If there were various curriculums, students of one school may have to deal with a voluminous amount of curriculum and children of other schools might have to deal with ver less curriculum. On the contrary, having the same curriculum would allow for one ultimate test which could test children's capability rather than different tests. For instance, Finland does not allow any of its citizens to start school until they reach the age of seven. Moreover, Finland has the highest literacy rate. So, collective decisions could prove advantageous in the long run.

Even though having a similar syllabus could prove advantageous, there are a few times where it could be disadvantageous. Having a similar syllabus for the whole country will have all the students of that nation to join a school at a particular age. But, there might be some children who are cognitively underdeveloped to start school at such an early age. Additionally, if different syllabi are available, parents would have various choices and moreover, if a child shifts between schools, it will allow him to mentally and emotionally prepare him for change. On the other hand, an identical curriculum would not allow him to adapt to various changes.

To elucidate, the same curriculum could be a boon as well as a bane. But, depending on the demographics of each country respective decisions should be taken. Furthermore, the choice can be left to the child's parents if they're willing for a nationwide curriculum or a different one and admit him accordingly.