Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Failure is the first step of success, a famous quotation by an anonymous person still gives humanity the motivation to push their limits and learn from past mistakes. There are many benefits of knowing the past. I disagree with the statement, due to the following reasons.

Past helps us learn from our mistakes. One of the best examples that can be cited is the outbreak of the COVID-19. Five years back, the outbreak of Ebola virus turned the world into a frenzied state as is now due to the Coronavirus. A million people died due to Ebola because necessary precautions weren't adopted countries across the world. Even Ebola spreads through human contact, but at that time due to the lack of precautionary measures many people had to suffer. But, due to the lessons of the past, the now major cause of the deaths can be prevented by taking measures, which could help save the lives of many individuals. Some measures which were adopted at present and those that were not adopted during the outbreak of Corona are, people suffering from Corona are quarantined, safety measures are being adopted by many countries. To make it clear, the past helps us learn from our mistakes.

Furthermore, it was recently identified that all the while the scientists were wrong about the number of spirals around the Milky Way galaxy. There was a breakthrough when scientists were studying past data and found loopholes in the calculations and data presented by previous scientists. That study aided them in coming up with advanced methods and new ideas to make a few crucial decisions which helped them in finally understanding the mystery of the spirals. Scientists were under the impression that, by measuring the light density emitted by distant stars, the number of spirals could be calculated. But, the method proved to be wrong. The past helps us verify the authentication of some beliefs that are taken for granted due to great inventions or breakthroughs. This could alter the diurnal decisions taken by humanity.

Knowing about the past would help us invalidate some decisions, which would seem valid, due to our lack of experience. Our history has helped us in gaining experience in many ways. As an illustration, let's look at the greatest oil spill in the history of mankind, The Deepwater Horizon, it was the cause of the death of a gargantuan amount of marine life. The main cause was due to the inefficient methods used to operate the rig. This led the present governments to take special care and understand the importance of such disasters. This past has led mankind to implement much more efficient ways of operating an oil rig. Such important decisions taken by mankind collectively impact nature in many ways.

To conclude, the past should be a lesson for taking important and crucial decisions in the future.