Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people whom they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Democratic countries elect their leader and grant the Prime Minister full-fledged powers for ruling the country. It implies that the citizens of a country are willing to accept the decisions taken by the Prime Minister for the country as a whole. So, I agree with the statement that government officials rely on their own judgement rather than considering peoples' opinion.

Normally in democratic countries, it is the people who elect a leader to rule their country. Once he is in power, he appoints responsible officials to carry out tasks in the various province. As in most of the countries people choose their leaders, the government officials should rely on their own judgements. Because people of their own free will have chosen that particular person for making decisions for the country on behalf of themselves. On the contrary, there are a few countries where communalism and even monarchy prevail and officials in such countries take into account peoples' judgement before coming to a conclusion on some decisions. One such country is Algeria, where a monarchial form of government prevails and there are few accounts in history where the King has chosen to rely on peoples' judgements rather than on his own.

Moreover, for countries such as India, China and America it is a herculean task to consult the view of each and every citizen. Financially also it would be a burden for under developing countries such as India. It would be easier for leaders to depend upon their own judgement against the will of the people. Additionally, with such a gargantuan number of people, there would be chaos when a choice is given to the public.

Similar to India, the will of the people can be carried out within smaller communities. Like in India, where third level governments exist for Districts and Mandals exists decisions can be taken by considering the diverse opinion of each individual. Because, a Sarpanch rules his respective district and districts are less in area, the views of each and every person can be considered and implemented.

To elucidate, government officials serving a small group of people can take into account the different views of people and serve them.