The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

For the effectiveness of something to be quantifiable, a physical entity is required. Similarly, for defining the effectiveness of a country's leaders can be measured by scrutinizing the well-being of its citizens in various aspects.

In the contemporary world, the rulers of a country analogous to the Prime, Minister, the President are the leaders for a country. A country's well-being can be measured by the decisions taken by these leaders to lead the country's citizens. It is not that every prime minister in the post takes impressive decisions. So, a leaders ability to make decisions is crucial in measuring a country's effectiveness. Citizens live their life basing on these decisions. If awful decisions are taken, then the people of the country would be leading awful lives.

Furthermore, a leader should take responsibility for the actions of the country. During a pandemic, a leader should make decisions for the welfare of his people and make appropriate decisions. An irresponsible leade would be apathetic to his people. So, if decisions are taken for and by the people, a country's citizens would be living prosperous lives. On the contrary, if a leader is irresponsible and apathetic, he could be held responsible for terrible consequences. Although, if the leader is responsible, it is the responsibility of the citizens to carry out the leader's decision promptly. For example, NRC bill was issued by the BJP government, this decision was made due to various factors affecting the country and by implementing it, Modi proved to be responsible for solving India's tribulations. But, the Indians criticised him and revolted against the bill. In this situation, the citizens suffered a lot.

Sometimes, the leader's trials to make the country a better place may be futile or successful i.e. sometimes, even after putting efforts a country's citizens may not be well. For instance, Rani Laxmi Bhai, queen of Jhansi died fighting against the Britishers. For what, the death of her people? Although, she inspired even the women to join the war.

To elucidate, a country's well being can or cannot be measured by a leaders efforts.