The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors.

"Over 80 percent of the respondents to a recent survey indicated a desire to reduce their intake of foods containing fats and cholesterol, and today low-fat products abound in many food stores. Since many of the food products currently marketed by Old Dairy Industries are high in fat and cholesterol, the company's sales are likely to diminish greatly and company profits will no doubt decrease. We therefore advise Old Dairy stockholders to sell their shares, and other investors not to purchase stock in this company."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

It is stated that over a majority of the population intend to reduce the intake of foods high in fats and cholesterol. And since the products of Old Dairy Industries are high in cholesterol and fat, it is predicted by the newsletter that the profits of the company will decrease. Furthermore, the newsletter advises investors to sell any shares pertaining to that company and offers other investors not to invest in this industry. Many fatal assumptions are present and a few unanswered questions are there which when taken for granted could end the investors in losses.

Firstly, stating statistics as evidence in an argument is shaky. Because the authenticity of the statistics is unknown. Moreover, for the argument to prove a point, it could answer questions such as, How many people participated in the survey? How varied the chosen sample was? Were the people chosen following a healthy diet? It could be that people who follow a healthy diet were asked to answer a survey. In such situations, people apparently will tend to reduce their junk food intake. And the main cause for the invalidity of statistical evidence is that it can never be known, the number of people who gave a genuine reply to the questions asked.

Furthermore, there is no specified location of where Old Dairy Industries is located and the people surveyed were located. Answering questions like Where are the majority of the sample chosen for the survey located? It is plausible that the location of Old Dairy Industries and people chosen for the survey were not matching at all. People from different cities could have been surveyed. And there is no evidence of how many products the people surveyed are purchasing from Old Dairy Industries. All the people surveyed might be purchasing only a meagre amount of products from Old Dairy Industries, so, even if they reduce their purchases this would not affect the overall sales of the industry.

Lastly, it is mentioned that a majority of the products are products rich in fats and cholesterol. There is a high probability that other products not rich in fat and cholesterol could have a boost in their sales. It is nowhere specified that the sales of other products are less in number. So, another question could be Sales regarding foods rich in fats and foods that are not rich in fats? If sales of other products could at least recover a small amount of loss due to the foods rich in fat, then there is no reason why investors should not invest. Provided, the statistics regarding all the sales are given, then further conclusions can be made regarding investment.

To elucidate, if the above questions go answered, no reasonable conclusion can be drawn and the suggestion by the newsletter would be null and void.