Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author argues that more call-in advice programs should be added into radio programs in Rockvellie because the number of radio listeners has been increased. Nationwide survey shows that people are interested in the program; and also the manager of KICK station recommended that it would attract listeners more by having more program of it. However, the argument is flawed by not having enough evaluation in order to predict whether those evidence would work to increase the number of listeners.

First of all, all audiences in Rockville would not listen to the radio station of WCQP. It is possible there are more one radio station available in a city. However, the author assumes that the audience of WCQP station will be increased as the radio audience in the Rockvilles listening area has been increased. Also, there are many factors that can affect the number of audiences listening to a certain radio program. For example, the time broadcasting is an important factor that affect the number of audiences. People might not listen to radio during early morning or late night because they would be rather in bed than being awake and listening to radio during those time periods. Also, if there are multiple radio programs on at the same time when the radio program of WCQP is broadcasting. The potential audiences in the city can be dispersed into a number of programs available. Thus, the WCQP radio program may lose an significant number of people who might prefer another radio program broadcasted during the same time. Therefore, the author should question how many different radio program is available and which time period radio audience prefer to listen to radio program during daytime.

Second, the author assumes that the radio station of WCQP is only program that has call-in advice in the city. Especially in broadcasting programs, it often comes with competition with one another. If one particular program became popular, a number of programs turn out to produce similar program so that they can attract more audiences and keep up with trends. For example, since the show called American talent has become enormously popular in the U.S., there are a number of shows that have competition in different field, such as master chef. Therefore, before the author evaluates any other radio programs in which audience can be offered the call-in advice as the WCQP does, the author cannot guarantee that the number of audience would increase only in their broadcasting company.

Third, the author refers the nationwide survey in order to induce the trends of current radio listeners and their preference nowadays. However, the result and data that the nationwide survey shows may not be the same data showing when the citizens in Rockevilles are surveyed. Even though the nationwide survey contains a big data set with a huge number of sample size, the author should not apply the data result into the city assuming all have the same condition. Therefore, the author should investigate whether the residents in Rockvilles are actually interested in the program as shown in the nationwide survey.

Lastly, another evidence given by the author was that the radio station manager of KICK in Medway has recommended to include more call-in advice programs in WCQP stations. However, without any comparison between both stations in those different two cities, it can be deleterious to take the recommendation from the manager of KICK station. The author should ask and scrutinize any factors that exist in common between those two station and cities in order to certain adding more call-in advice program would increase more radio listern in Rockevellie. For instance, the residents in Medway has higher average age. Most of retired population in the city stay at home and have much free time to listen to those radio program. On the other hand, the residents in Medway are much younger in average meaning that there are a number of youth population who need more advising services that they want to ask in public milieu than the citizens in Rockveille. These differences might result in different situation when WCQP accepts the recommendation without detailed evaluation. Therefore, before adding it into the radio program, the author should take more consideration into comparison between those two different environments.

In conclusion, the author does not produce reasonable conclusion in order to provide more call-in programs in the station. He should question in multiple ways such as any differences in other cities in terms of situation and condition in order to consider taking in the recommendation from KICK manager. He also need to survey the city itself to study only and any possible influx audiences from other cities.