Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

there are many aspects that human beings have as their inherent temperament and inabilities. one of them is humans are trying to make self-achievement throughout their own lives. thus, many people tend to go develop more skills and move forward which often bring them feeling of satisfaction and higher self-esteem. however, making desirable activities or idea into the reality is not always feasible. thus, people often tend to seek balance between reality and ideality within themselves and others.

As mentioned in author's note, it could be possibly said that those dreams from some people would be selfish when those people would not consider or care about others who sacarify for them and only think about themself and for their own sake. For example, those people who ignore others in order to chase their dream and make achievement only for their benefits would be considered they are selfish. however, as you might notice, not because having dreams to pursue or dream itself is selfish, the moral quality that those kind of people have is selfish and dependent on others taking advantages from what others have. therefore, it would be restricted and narrowing views just to see that dreams of people or having dreams are selfish.

having dreams and goals would be not only beneficial for themselves and others but would make impossibilities possible and open to new world by making dreams possible. steven jobs had viewed by others that he was a stranger who thought about impossible creature, which was a laptop when laptop did not exist. people never thought it would be not possible to have potable computer outside of house and considered steven jobs as a person who chase unrealistic dreams. however, few years later after he worked so hard on developing handy laptop and eventually made it possible that people were able to bring computers anywhere they would want. therefore, now because of the person who thought things that other people never agreed on, people now all over the world can easily access computer even when they are in train, car, plane, or anywhere they like to take it.

chasing dreams have been viewed by psychologists as a healthy way of mental health because self-achievement is one of tempers that humans like to possess. By achieving that, most people feel they are feeling of existence. it is frequently recommended to have a goal or dream for clients in psychotherapy sessions or for elderly who have retired when they have no work to do daytime. there have been many reports that elderly people who have life goals and purpose or something they are dreaming and like to achieve in their lives tend to be psychologically and physically healthy, live longer, and feel less depressed.

Although it is a good idea for people to have dream or dream about things to achieve, people should know how to balance between reality and ideality. If someone have a dream to obtain in bachelor degree from ten colleges, even though it could be possible to study in ten colleges until he receives all the degree, it is hard to be seen that goal is realistic and could be viewed as a pointless life goal. In order to have a good balanced dream or goal between reality and ideality, a person should think about the purpose having that specific dream and imagine what the dream would bring to his life and in the world.

pursuing a life goal and dream could be seen as selfish when the person pursuing would not consider other and only care about him solely because his characteristics are selfish, not because dreaming is selfish. having dream and pursing it would be beneficial for the world and himself. however, dreaming also should follow with some thorough feedback what it would bring or why it would need to pursue balancing out between realistically and idealistically.