The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

The author alleges in the memorandum that Seatown should provide professors tuition for their children who are in college because they predict it will encourage professors for their work and those professors who receive tuition for their college-aged children stayed at the university longer. However, even though providing tuition to their children of professors would give some merit for potential applicants for the position of professors, there may be other ways and options that potential or current professors like to work at the university.

There may be other services or aspects that are specifically related to why higher number of faculty member stay longer than before such as research fit or amount of salary. Due to the nature of academia, it is important to find a position where potential applicants can do their research that they like to pursue. There also might be a well-organized welfare system for faculty member at the University such as well-paid salary or great medical insurance program provided by school. There are many other options that could be considered as related to higher retention for employees in working settings. However, the author only mentions only one factor, i.e., free tuition for faculties' children, and it would be doubtful that free tuition would be the answer in order to locate professors who would work longer or attract more intelligent professor.

Even though a free tuition is a considerable benefit for professors when they choose a position, there may be a number of professors who do not have kids at all or have children who are much younger than those who are about to enter college. In that case, a free tuition policy would not be attracting for them. Therefore, the author should consider the difference between Oceania University and Seatown University in order to conceive whether the policy would significantly affect and have the same effect from what Oceania college had as reported.

It should be considered any cost benefits or loss by providing a free tuition policy because there may other ways to spend the same amount of money in order to locate more intelligent professors or keep them longer in the university. Also, the author should consider the financial situation at Seatown comparing to Oceania university because tuition for education is not inexpensive and Oceania university has much more asset than Seatown has so that they have enough money to provide professors for their children's tuition. Therefore, with the limited finance, the author should considerate what options would be available to lost intelligent professors at their college and provide them better quality of environment where they can work and generate efficient quality of work in their research/teaching field.

The author should not only cleearly show what path he used to collect the data and result but should consider other related options that might affect the decisions of employee to stay at their work and when they choose positions.