Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

It is difficult to define the roles of government. However, one of roles that government should ensure to have is to support non-profitable national research business even though research business does not guarantee the success because scientific research cannot generate the conclusion that researchers expected; and its failure, which is even helpful for future studies, never be worthless. However, restrictions are necessary for particular research studies. Therefore, the government role for scientific research would be the management to provide general guidance for research studies and to support for its development.

Scientific studies should be restricted and prohibited to further study when it is unethical and not humanistic. For example, one of the most controversial study conducted in psychology, which is called Milgram study at Yale University, would be not possible to proceed because of its harmful consequences to the participants through the study. The research was to gain knowledge about the functions and roles of authority. The participants should listen to authority who directed them to punish the actors when the actors answered incorrectly. Even though the participants debriefed after study that the actors were not actually punished and just acted as they were in pain with the punishment beeps, the participants were shocked and suffered from their feeling of guilty even after considerable amount of times passed.

Likewise, Milgram study is a worthy to gain knowledge that we would like to have for social relationship with authority. However, it is unethical and should have been restricted by the government for psychological safety for the participants. Additionally, the government should limit studies that use harsh procedure to animals and alive things such as using harsh chemical given to animals or animal tests for human uses. Recently, by many environmentalists, many companies became aware of how unethical animal tests would be. Therefore, many products that used to test with animals started marking on it that they no longer test it with animals.

Rather restrict scientific research, the government should support it trusting scientists and scholars for human benefits. Scientific research in terms of costs is expensive. Only few people with strongly stable financial asset would be able to begin any projects. Eventually, any research studies that are privately done would worsen the gap between rich and poor because those expensive resources would be able to be accessible to rich. For example, if virus vaccine research is conducted by private research center or company, only those in higher socioeconomic class are likely to be vaccinated and avoid particular virus. Others in lower income class would be hard to even keep their health. Therefore, for general benefits for citizens, as one of government roles, they need to keep scientific research non-profitable as national business which eventually would be possible by supporting scientific researches rather than by restricting.

Another role of government that is relevant to by supporting research is to prepare any disasters that are predictive for scholars and scientists. The government should keep safe the nations and citizens by being aware of any possibly predictable disasters. Therefore, restriction of research provides obstacles to study such this type of information. For example, research scientists found that the issues with plastic in ocean have been deleterious with animal lives which eventually is connected to human health. Without research, we would not able to know what the next disaster is after abusing plastics and also regarding to the global warming brought frequently by environmental scientists.

Without specific reasons for potentially harmful and unethical studies, the government rather support research that scientists pursue for public bonification. Rather saving money from restricting studies, the government financially support it and create comprehensive manual of how to develop research/science and raise more talented and thoughtful scientists.