The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

The author argues that the proposed new jazz club in the city of Monroe would be successful business idea because there’s no club nearby in the city. Several musicians live in the city; and jazz festival last summer were successful as more than 100000 people visited. However, in the evidences provided by the author, there are several flaws, assumptions, and illogical rationales he made to support the arguments. In order to strengthen the arguments, he should go through several discussions below.

First, the author argues that the proposed new jazz club will be successful because of the successful jazz festival last summer in which over 100,000 people visited. Even though these evidences sound relevant to the argument, these reports cannot guarantee the success of the new jazz club opening in the city because only one year of jazz festival success does not represent that local people in Monroe will visit the new opening jazz club. There are many variables that can affect and predict the popularity of the genre of music, jazz, in the city. Especially, music festivals are a huge event that usually visitors who live outside of the city can visit the city for the festival. Therefore, the author cannot assume that all the people in the festival were from Monroe city. In order to strengthen the argument and avoid unnecessary assumption, he should survey how many people from the city in order to study whether most people in the city like jazz music.

Second, according to the author, the city highest rated radio program in Monroe is jazz program. However, all the listeners would not prefer to visit the jazz club with several reasons. Also, there is several reasons that the radio rating cannot possibly be a representative information of music preference of people in the city. Even though the ratio is the highest radio channel, people could select the one because the other channels are terribly designed programs. Depending on preference, listeners would not like jazz as much as they visit jazz club in the city. Therefore, the author should specifically investigate how radio channel surveyed the rating and the reason for why listeners chose the jazz radio channel as the number one.

Third, nationwide study has good advantages and information to know. However, the average amount of money spent for jazz entertainment would necessarily represent the specific city in Monroe about the expenditure of jazz entertainment. Some of cities can spend much higher than the city of Monroe which weight up the average amount of money for jazz entertainment in Monroe. In this case, the author should refer the average of the city itself rather than the average of the nationwide. With that, since jazz club is one of major jazz entertainment, if the money spends are higher in the city, it is likely that people spend more money on jazz club which increase the credence of the argument as well.

In order to strengthen the evidences and argument, the author should consider the listed suggestions thoroughly and discuss those assumptions he made in the previous arguments about opening a jazz club in the city.