The following was written as a part of an application for a small business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise Currently the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away thus

It might seem logical at the first glance to agree with the author's argument in which the proposed C-Note jazz club would make a profit as a result of the lack of competition because jazz is quite popular in Monroe. The author of this argument on what might be less credible and even unproven assumption to support his/her claim that I will distinguish them below.

To begin with, the argument relies on a weak analogy. The author assumes that since the nearest jazz club is far from Monroe that its fans would prefer to go to the proposed club, and therefore it would dominate the local market. One problem regarding this claim is that the author does not consider the quality of services provided in clubs. What if the club already in existence offers services more affordable or employs more professional waiters? What if the quality of broadcasting the music is far more better in the old one? In this case, fans might prefer to drive longer to get there. Hence, to strengthen his/her argument, the author should benefit from answering these type of questions to authenticate the argument.

One more problem with the argument involves that the author notes that approximately 100,000 attendance was gathered in the annual jazz festival, therefore jazz is completely popular. the author has not accounted for the possibility that those people had nothing better to do at that time than attend a jazz festival or they just tended to try it on and eventually disliked it. Whether attendances were local residents or tourists? these statistics should be completely clear at the given data to make the argument valid and reliable.

Lastly, the other problematic claim is that the author mentions that annually around 1000 dollars have been spent on jazz entertainment by its fans. The point is that people in this town may spend thousands dollars more on other entertainments and that is why it is highly likely that this spending does not make the business tremendously profitable. Importantly, we are not informed about the cost of opening and maintenance of a jazz club. We just do not know. Unless the argument is fully valid and reliable to effectively back.

To recapitulate, despite the argument suffering from several problems and is unconvincing, we can not absolutely rely on it or refuse it without pursuing any additional assumption and reasoning. the author can strengthen his/her assertion by changing states referred to the mentioned solutions. Without these changes, the argument is implausible and the reasoning is faulty.