a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

It is hard to define the roles of government because there are many roles and responsibilities that the government should take for citizens. However, providing great environment to educate people and designing a good educational system often produce advantageous factors for the society. Regarding to the educational system, it has been controversial whether education curriculum should offer more freedom to students or be rigid in terms of selecting subjects.

First of all, education should be fair and should be given the equal amount of opportunites to everyone. Therefore, the same national curriculum is necessary for the society and citizens. Otherwise, education could be a great factor that can lead worsen segregation between wealth and poverty in the society. For example, in South Korea in which parents especially are eager to send their children to a good private or privileged schools, there were high schools that were more privileged and most of parents wanted to send their kids. Those high schools had their own curriculums designed in order to send their students to the most privileged colleges eventually. Because of high competitive rates to enter those high school, students who were enough wealthy to be supported from their parents were likely to enter those high schools. These patterns eventually worsen the class difference in South Korea. Therefore, the government decided a few decades ago that all the high school in Korea became public high schools subsidized by the nation and provided the same national curriculum so that students from lower class families can also have the same education from the other from higher socioeconomic class families.

Not only for regulating class differences, but also for satisfying the basic knowledge for citizens, the educational curriculum should be standardized. For example, there are several subjects in primary schools that all the students must take in order to graduate because they are those knowledge that all the citizen should know and be adapted as their basic skills. It was a social issue in South Korea that people who ran out of North Korea to South Korea are not able to find jobs or be accustomed into South Korea because they were properly not educated in terms of basic computer skills or knowing internationally used languages such as English alphabet. Even though this is an extreme example, if there is no standardized curriculums provided by the government, it would be difficult to regulate the society and would not be efficient for citizens later when they move onto the next step in the society.

However, even though some of subjects should be strictly standardized, there should be liberty and freedom in eudcation. Having different opitions and some flexibilities are necessary in education. All the people do not need to have the exact the same education. It should depend on their aptitudes or preferences regarding what they would like to work for careers or what they are more interested in. All the people do not have the same interests and have the same career goals. In order to guide better, the government should research and prepare several options so that students can select one of them. Example, in high school in Korea, there are a couple of selections depending on students' preferences, i.e. social science and science.

Furthermore, giving the exact same curriculum that the government requires can be inefficient for some population. For example, students who want to be a chef do not need to take some of advanced science courses rather need more nutrition knowledge or how to cook. However, if there is a limited number of curriculums required, it would be not fair and inefficient to use their time to develop and explore experience and knowledge.

Therefore, even though students could have another chance to learn more advanced and various knowledge after entering college, the government should design a set of national curriculum that is optimized for students who have different interests and be aware of differences in those career goals of students.