An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

People in Tagus suffer from deficiency of vitamin A which is contained sufficiently in a new breed of millet. Even though the engineered breed millet requires more cost to be paid from farmers who raise it, the author argues that the government should try anything they can do to promote the type of millet. However, the author assumed that people in Tagus would steadily consume the new type of millet without evaluating other alternative ways to supply vitamin A.

Vitamin A is not only consumed from millet. There are several options to take enough vitamin through different sources. Many of vegetables and fruits have enough amount of vitamin A. People can eat more vegetables and fruits that are especially known for vitamin A, such as carrots and broccolis. However, the author did not evaluate whether or not millet is the only source to satisfy the recommended amount of vitamin that people in Tagus should take. Even though the environment is harsh to raise vegetables and fruits enough with vitamin A, it is possible that people can get out of the deficiency of vitamin A by taking vitamin A supplement. The best of taking vitamin A is through foods which help organs to absorb it, but it is still efficient to take the supplement in order to have the same effect. Thus, the author should seek if there is any other alternatives for vitamin A.

There are many issues around genetically modified food products and how they affect human bodies and environment. However, the author has not stated whether the new type of millet has been tested for any safety issues. Recently, many of researchers and organizations have been raising the issues that are carried from food products that are genetically altered. Even though alteration of genetics is costly better and available to grow easily, it could result in some negative affect on human bodies since it is not naturally raised and is artificially developed. Especially, people in Tagus would consume the millet as their primal source for their meal because the author state people have eaten millet regularly. Therefore, the new type of millet would need to be tested thoroughly whether there are any potential side effects of consuming millet on regular basis.

Considered with side effect of genetic alteration on the environment, another huge issues with GMO is the negative effects on the environment. By artificially modifying genetics just for human benefits, it can produce positive effects, such as supplying more food sufficient in vitamin A for better health in people in Tagus, in a short term. The researchers worried that the food chain would be disturbed by heavy uses of genetic technologies for food productions. Therefore, people would be beneficent from the genetic technology in a short term. It can also harm the environment and ultimately cause more cost to recover the environment. Therefore, the author should consider and evaluate if using that engineered breed of millet would be safe for the environment in a long run.

In the statement, it has been said that millet in Tagus is a stable food that people regularly consume. However, people never know that they would continue to eat millet if they realized that they need to take more vitamin A. Even though the new breed of millet contains enough amount of vitamin A, people might want to eat and adopt other foods that are known for vitamin A as their primal meal. Also, the price would be increased since the new breed is costly and the farmers who raise it need to pay for that breed. Especially, price is one of the most relevant factors that decide patterns of consumption from people. People might not want to buy millet due to expensive price and then transfer to another cheaper food product that also have enough vitamin A.

In conclusion, the author should go over any alteranative sources that can satisfy the issue of defincient vitamin A in Tangus instead of a new type of millet. Also, before the government put it into the market, they need to test thoroughly for safety. Lastly, it is important to survey the likelihood that people in Tagus would buy the new breed when it comes with higher price.