The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument

The argument that firstborn monkeys have shown increased cortisol levels is not entirely based on proven and indisputable evidences. There is a myriad of question which is left unanswered and several assumptions have been taken for granted.

What is the total population of the rhesus monkeys across the globe? Among that quoted population, do the 18 monkeys amount for a significant portion to extrapolate the results to the entire rhesus monkeys? Also, if rhesus monkeys were found in different parts of the globe, which were the monkeys that were studied? Were the monkeys indigenous to a particular location or were they picked up from different places to sum up to 18 monkeys for the study? The study has shown a blatant disregard to such questions which engender the basis for understanding and extrapolating the results of the study.

Regarding the simulating situations, were the monkeys subjected to the same set of parameters for the study? Unless subjected to the same quantized intensity of the parameters, the study would be unable to provide conclusive results. Also, if the monkeys were subjected to the same situations, did the study ensure that only hale and vigorous monkeys were studied and that no diseased/feeble monkeys happened to be a part of the study? This is of cardinal importance when crucial comparisional inferences are supposed to be made from the study. If such assurity has not been accounted for by assuming all the monkeys of the study to be healthy enough, such an assumption could lead to erroneous derivations.

Adding further depth to the simulating parameters, were the monkeys subjected to the conditions in an external and natural habitat of theirs? Or were they subjected to the study in an isolated and easy to study environment? Has the impact of such natural and madeup environment taken into account? Not having quoted about such impacts, the study happens to assume a uniform response of the monkeys in all conditions which could plausibly be flawed.

Notwithstanding the possibility of the study being valid ultimately, such a disposition can however not be made at the current stand. The study could offer clarity to the aforementioned queries and could also make the testing parameters and procedures transparent for better comprehension and evaluation of the probity of the study.