Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There has been a spate of articles which has polarised people on whether laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times and places. Based on logical reasoning and a pragmatic approach it wouldnt be germane to quote that the laws have to be flexible and that, immutable laws per se have prone to have deleterious effects on the proper functioning of any system.

In an attempt to enlighten the importance of the aforementined flexible law, let us visualize a scene in which on old women who encountered an accident is lying unconscious on the road. She has already had sufficient blood loss and requires immediate actions to save her from the imminent death. In an attempt to dispatch her to a hospital as swiftly as possible, a youth inadvertently dodges the traffic signal with his speedy car, reaches the hospital in time and ultimately receives approbations of the doctors for having brought the lady at the right time to the hospital-which enabed them save a precious life. The person wasn't charged or arrested as he had helplessly broken the laws with an intent to save a life. This was plausible because the flexible laws had come to his rescue. This was fair enough, but imagine if the youth was caught on the way by the cops for this speedy drive and for disobeying traffic laws and was penalised and arrested ? Not only would it have led to loss of faith in humanity but would have also promoted people to adopt a cynical lifestyle. This illustration shows how insidious could immutable laws be !

While advocates and martinents opine their tenuous claims that laws are not something which are not supposed to flexbile and that every individual is contractually obligated to abide by the law, no matter what , erudite scholars disregard this as a flawed argument based on real life consequences of an intransigent system and its laws. As rightly quoted in the coda of an Indian Movie, Rakt Charitra - Helpness and merciless evil inflicts of the society is what a man becomes.

Therefore, it would be prudent and judicious to account for the reasons and other factors which led to a particular act of disobeying the law to a certain extent and then deciding the intensity of the mistake/legal action to be taken rather than a blatant objective analysis of the situation. Flexible laws promote a holistic look at the scenario and experience shows that it would indubitably strengthen the ties between the people and the system.