Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Recently, the Educational institutions have been bogged down in the maze of the conundrum of the reponsibility of dissuading students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. The news articles on this issue has polarised people on this lines while a minority speaking for and several supporting against the motion. The onus of the choice of the field of study entirely lies on the students' and the educational instituitions must engender a platform to provide them all the opportunities they require and not dissuade them based on the absolutely unpredictable success of the field.

Success is infact an abstruse term and cannot be defined by a particular universal definition. It's a holistic approach and largely relative- a mere job satisfaction must be success for some while an exorbitant salary package for others. With such an ambiguous approach to success, on what basis will the Educational institutions be able to access the probable success of each particular individual in a specific field? Not only is it impossible to gauge success as a measurement tool, an attempt to do so would result in a fallacious outlook.

Firstly, a student is inclined to a particular field owing to his innate propensities and curiosity oriented to that direction and it is the responsibility of the Educational institutions to furnish such a student with all possible opportunities to grow and enhance them. Immaterial to the amount to package a student might earn as his salary, it is the job satisfaction which is of paramount importance and this is utterly thwarted when one is subjected to fields unrelated to one's interest. A student with an innate proclivity to become an artist, if dissuaded from pursuing that field due to the lower probability of success, and coerced to reconcile to an uninteresting field to him ( though a field with higher probability of success ) is not only morally demolished but the growth and creativity of the mind comes to a hault! Is this what the nation wants to achieve- metamorphosis of the assets of the nation into liability due to the sheer prohibition of allowing them to choose their fields of study due to plausible low success rates ?

While skeptics have opined that a student must definitely be dissuaded from pursuing fields in which they are unlikely to succeed, with their tenuous claims that students are not mature enough to decide the right and wrong for them and thence it lies on the shoulders of the Educational institutions to dissuade them from choosing such fields. But the erudite scholars have decried such a flawed proposition quoting that it is completely vague and impossible to assess the likelihood of success with respect to every particular student and the Educational institutions are incapable of this with the current technology and limitations.

Therefore, Educational institutions which happen to play a pivotal role in the life of a student must definitely allow and infact encourage them in pursuing their fields of interest and only this would foster the multidimensional growth and augment the probability of success.