Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument asserts that further research must be conducted on the Tertial child-rearing practices via the interview-centered method to obtain accurate information. The argument is based on several underlying assumptions which are flawed and there is a dearth of proper pieces of evidences as delineated below.

Firstly, the argument takes a major leap by assuming interview-centered approach superior to observation-centered approach. Was a thorough comparative analysis of these two approaches as a technique to study child rearing practices conducted, and what were the results of such a comparision? The argument merely proposes two anthropologist, using different approaches, concluding a varied result. But what gurantees the superiority of interview centered method than observation centered ? The argument could make transparent the underlying comparisions made to corroborate to its decision.

Secondly, owing to the immense developments in the field of technology in the past decades, did the recent anthrapological study withness advanced and accurate methodologies which were more reliable than a method used twenty years ago? This is an absolute plausibility and the argument could assert the authencity of this to gauge the reliability of the techniques used to derive the conclusion.

Another major fallacy is in the comparision of datas which differ in time over a period of twenty whole years. It wouldn't be feasible to gainsay the possibility of a probable nontrivial gentic change ascribed to the adaptability, which would render such a comparision invalid. The biology of the inhabitants could have changed over such a large period of time. An absence of any evidence to refute such a possiblity weakens the argument.

The conclusion of Dr. Karp loses its significance as he ascribes his result to the greater amount of time spent by children in talking about their biological parents than other adults in the village. This could be a possbility but however cannot be concluded as the only reason for such a conclusion. There might be an underlying reason behind the children being reticent about other villagers. Did the study scavenge for such a possibility and what were the findings of such a study? It is the result of such a study that could bolster the claim of the Dr. Karp's conclusion.

Ultimately, notwithstanding the plausibility of the argument being valid, such a stand cannot be taken with the current disposition. The argument could furnish the reader with answers to the aforementioned questions and assert the reliability of the assumptions for the thorough scrutiny and assimilation of the conclusion provided.