Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he conclude ed from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

This statement claims future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview centered method. I have so many different opinions in this statement. There are some reasons in the following paragraphs.

First of all, this statement claims that the children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village and get a result is that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village vulture must be invalid. Does they spend more time talking of their biological parents mean that they were raised by their biological parents? Maybe it ’s because they ’re strange with their biological parents that they talk more time. They might heard about their parents from others and like to talk about it.

Secondly, Are the questions set during the interview appropriate? If the questions used limit the range of the children’s talking, there will cannot ensure that the interview results will be reliable. Is the interviewee representative? It is an important point. It maybe because this interviewee is a special example and different with others.

In addition, Are the interviewees' answers true? The interviewee did not answer honestly for some reason. Obviously, it means the interview method also has disadvantages, They make interviewees have a vigilance feeling. Usually, if he does not trust you, in order to protect the people in their island, he will try lie to you.

Finally, Did you interview adults? It has not any information about it in the article. The adults might offer more accurate description. Adults express better than children. Adults and children may have different answers in the same question. Is the interview method better than the observation method? No data indicate this. during the interview, the client may lie, but the observation method will not, just need to spend more time.

To sum up, this article is not reliable, it still need to more evidences.