To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A society is something-which integrates the flamboyant lifestyle of the rich, satisfactory lifestyle of middleclass and the lugubrious life of the helpless poor-and portrays itself as a single unified component. And such an abstruse concept called 'society' cannot be completely studied by mere analysis of the major cities alone.

This is an issue which has garnered attention since a long period of time where erudite scholars have focussed exclusively on the major cities for the characterization of a society while the liberals and activists have been dengrating such a characterization which does not account for the unheard pains of the society which reside in the minor cities. The major cities with flourishing job opportunities, educational schools and institutions account for a majortiy of the society, or to be precise, represent only the earning sector of the society. The unemployed people and the poor who have not been able to fetch a-meal-a-day for them have been mercilessly ostracised from these places and thrown into locations where their voices are unheard. This leaves their culture unnoticed, sufferrings unlearnt and rights ungranted! And these places mostly happen to be the minor cities of the society. This shows how misleading the characterization of a society could probably be if it does not account for the minor cities.

While the erudite scholars propund to exclude the minor cities which represents the poor and helpless masses quoting that they happen to be just a nominal 10% of the society. But they have seldom pondered about the consequences of these superficial characterization. Unemployment leads to accretion of population, with the result of demand augmenting supply exponentially over a period of time. Today's 10% might become tomorrow's 30% and so on. With the futile attempts to reconcile to the unemployed phase of life, these sector might resort to any means to fulfill their subsistence. And woudlnt such a nontrivial act change the way the society has been portrayed or mislead the reader about the phase ? The answer clearly would disabsue the erudite scholars who oppose the inclusion of minor cities in characterizing a society.

Notwithstanding accounting for the majority of the society by suverying the major cities, the actual pain and culture of the society might still be left unheard without accounting for the minor cities. This passage therefore opines the mandatory inclusion of the minor cities in the thorough scavening and analysis of the society.