SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's original headquarters. Moreover, Middlesburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument renders the decision of SuperCorp to move its headquarters from Middlesburg to Corporateville as the best decision. The argument is not completely supported by preliminary pieces of evidences and is also based on certain flawed assumptions as delineated below.

How many employees were surveyed by SuperCorp? Was the number statistically significant to extrapolate to a decisive conclusion? What was the nature of the work the employees were subjected to in it? Did SuperCorp provide a peaceful and harmonious environment to work or was the workplace a melange of cacaphony? It is plausible that SuperCorp, centered in an urban area, failed to provide peaceful working conditions due to which the employees preferred to work in a non urban area owing to its sanguinity.

The argument takes a major leap in concluding the decision right by mentioning a surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville. Were the reasons for increase in the homeowners thoroughly investigated? Such a proliferation of homeowners in Corporateville could not neccessarily mean that all of them, on a whim, preferred to shift to this place cause it proved superior. There could have been an underlying reason. Maybe they belonged to a neighbouring city which could have been decimated by a natural calamity and that they shifted here as this was the only place nearby to accomodate them. There is a plethora of such possibilities. Therefore, it is of cardinal importance to study the reasons for such an increase inorder to obtain a derivation from the inference.

How can lower tax pave path for a safe workplace ? What unmentioned role has tax played in determining the safety of the work? The argument has left the question unanswered. Also, lower tax doesnt neccessarily mean a cheaper place as the place could still demand higher rents and exorbitant rates of goods and commodities.This is an undeniable possibility unless quoted otherwise. Unless a comparision is expressed between the cost of living and goods in Corporateville and Middlesburg, such an assumption could prove erroneous.

Ultimately, though the argument could be valid, such a disposition cannot be made from the current stand. Supercorp could provide a transparent clarification for the aforementioned questions and assumptions taken for granted, for a detailed examination and assimilation of the facts and figures.