Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument propounds that baskets with a particular distinctive patter are exclusive to the vicinity of a prehistoric village of Palea which has been countered by a recent archaeological discovery. However, certained flawed assumptions of the argument and the reasearch raises several queries.

The assumption of the argument that such peculiar basktes exclusively belong to the Palean people is dubious. What if the village of Palea was the local hub for business among the neighbouring villages and that all such baskets woven by the people indigenious to some other locality had to be brought to Palea for sale? This is a possibility which has not been addressed by the argument. An extensive survey of the historical significance and status of the people who resided in Palea and nearby localities could however attempt to provide some hint regarding the same.

On the other hand, the archaeological discovery has been vaguely concluded without proper evidences. Discovery of a single Palean basket in Lithos as inferred from ('such a "Palean" basket') cannot merely conclude its multiple orgins. How many such baskets where found in entire non-Palean localities? Where such baskets also found in far to reach places from Palea ? The absence of any vestiges of the Palean boats cannot engender a conclusion that the Palean people could have not travelled to Lithos. What if there has been a wanton destruction of the village due some plausible rivalry or communal war which could have lead to lack of any such evidences? Did the findings scavenge for the possibilty of an ersatz route to Lithos via which the Palen people could have communted to the village? Such questions could plausibly strengthen the claim of the discovery.

Though the argument or evidence presented could ultimately be valid, the probity and the authenticity of either of them cannot be ascribed with the current stand which lacks a depth of detail. Furnishing further clarifications to the questions posited above would definitely buttress the claim.