People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Recently, the disparity between emotional and objective decision making skills has occupied the newspaper headlines. While few have been reluctant to let go the conventional objective decision making strategy, the rising importance of arriving at a decision based on emotions has mustered plethora of importance and support recently and its significance undoubtedly overweighs that of the former.

Emotion is the quintessence of humanity and it's the crux on which the entire humanity hinges! Emotion is the only subject which distinguishes between the egregious and the magnanimous acts. Having said that, it wouldn't be superflous to quote that when it comes to decision making, emotional significance ought to play its due role and its vitality should not be gainsaid or overlooked.

In the last decade, when the Indian Government planned to build a dam for the wellfare of the nation- to decrease the dependence on fossil fuels, increase the hydropower resources, contribute to increased GDP- the problems posed by the people indigenous to the area where the dam was to be built was legion. The people around that area had to vacate their homes and go elsewhere to scavenge for a source of living, the entire agricultural land in the nearby area was to abandoned owing to the building of the dam and there was a myriad of practical difficulties the people had to inure to. It was only the emotional analysis of this issue which enabled the Government heed to the pleas of the people, withdraw its plan and allow for the idyllic residence of the people without posing any threat to it.

Emotional decision making enables a prudent judgement of the issue and also allows to analyse the rationality of the matter. While skeptics have opined otherwise quoting an example of a case of man charged with robbery- his helplessness to feed his hungry child made him rob. Though an emotional analysis precludes a severe punishment, inclusion of such emotional ground into such a decision making would broadcast "robbery-as a result of helplessness" harmless and genuine. This statement definitely underscores the drawback of emotional analysis of a matter.

Though an objective analysis occupies the conventional decision making systems across the globe, from homes to the Parliment, an emotional look at the problem would preclude plausible mishaps of a decision. Notwithstanding the paramount importance of emotional attitude to a problem, such an attitude should be clearly curbed from completely influencing a decision making. Im other words, decision making is in fact a multidimensional approach, one of which happens to be emotional approach and logical reasoning.