To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The present scenario has only enabled the survival of the fittest and the most productive. With the profileration of unemployment and the government’s lax policies to curb the corrupted job selection process, small scale business has become the only means of surival for a majority of the unemployed masses. Having delineated a glimpse of the inadvertent neccessity of small scale business, it wouldn’t be superflous to quote that the government role isnt required in the burgeoning of the aforementioned small scale business.

In an attempt to extrapolate from the historical experience, it would be precise to infer from the economical situation of India, back in the beginning of the 19th century. When the new democractic Government had just established its base at that point of time, it had ensured unfretted freedom for small scale business to emerge and flourish. This meant that there had neither been any govermental procedure mandatory for starting up a business nor had the offical validation of the autenticity of the businessman been compulsory. According to the report published by THE HINDU on ‘The Employment of India’, the country had witnessed enormous flourishing of new small scale businesses which ensured the minimum requirement of meal of the day and a decent lifestyle for most of the unemployed masses.

However, couple of years later, the things changed drastically when the power had come into the hands of an autocratic group. There were disciplinarion policies and cumbersome rules and regulations which had to be followed before the mere establishment of a new business. Not to forget, the bribe and so-called “miscellaneous chargess” which the frugal unemployed man had to pay for the commencement of the business inaddition to the never ending governmental procedures. The stagnation of the country’s GDP during that phase and the mass suicidal of the unemployed youths, in different parts of the nation, who were unable to reconcile to fact to joblessness and hence pennyless life, corroborates the deleterious effects of government intervation and their intransigent system of rules and regulations.

Therefore, it can indubitably be inferred from the above enumerations that the intervention of the Government in small scale business has only led to inconceivable and inimical results. The people who resort to small scale business do so because of helpness and if not supported or encouraged, should atleast not be bothered and must be prevented from incessant meddling of the Government.