Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances times and places Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developi

Laws are a system of rules that are formulated to bring order in a society. Thus, laws help in bringing a system, country or society under one rule which everyone must obey and accept. Laws are therefore enforced upon people without making any distinction between them so that there is discipline and peace in a society.

Since the whole society that comes under one rule is subject to the same laws of the society, it is the responsibility of the governing authority to make sure that the laws pertain to the general public and are not against them. For this purpose while formulating laws the government must look into the needs of the society. Moreover, since the needs of a society as a whole are not fixed and are subject to time, place and circumstances, laws should also not be fixed. It would be wrong to say that laws once formulated will never change. Such governance where laws are not flexible and are rigid takes the form of dictatorship. Therefore, for the purpose of forming a healthy democratic society, it is important that the requirements of people should be taken into consideration, and correspondingly changes introduced in laws.

The needs of people change with changing times. What was required in the past is different from the requirements of the present. Moreover, with the passage of time the success of laws can be judged. Thus, according to the present needs, a change should be made in laws. For example, in the past, there were restrictions put the merchants to practice free trade keeping in mind the upliftment of small scale industry and public sector. However, with the passage of time, it was observed that such a restriction has only alienated the country and thus has put hurdles in the way of progress. The private sector forms a large part of the society and their needs must also be taken into consideration. With the removal of such rigid laws and the practice of free trade coming into existence, the economy has become stronger than ever. Thus, laws formed according to the needs of the changing times not only bring in development but also peace and harmony in a society.

Similarly, there can be changes in circumstances that require a change in laws. For example, in case of violence or attack, it becomes essential to put restriction over the common man keeping in mind the interests of the society. Thus, a curfew or a state of emergency can be declared to bring the circumstances back to normalcy. However, such laws are not required when the circumstances do not allow and there is peace everywhere. A change in place can also see a change in laws. According to laws and rights, a citizen of a country may be free to move, settle or buy property in any part of the country, but there can be restrictions put on such liberty according to the place as well. Some places need to be protected by the government for various purposes, like security, upliftment of poor and minority etc. Thus, the laws must also be subject to change in place.

However, the change in laws should not be made at the click of a finger. In such a system the importance of laws is diminished. There has to be a predefined and proper procedure of amendment of laws which takes into consideration every aspect of the society that would get affected with the change. Thus, laws must be flexible but not weak so that they can be bent and twisted to every desired way. Only strong laws that take into consideration the interests of the society as a whole are the ones which form a healthy and peaceful society.