When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

The prompt recommends to demolish historic buildings in favor of constructing infrastructure to meet contemporary needs. Undoubtedly, it is not justified to raze heritage to accommodate modern needs be it for building housing, commercial spaces or public infrastructure like bus stations or transit points. Removal of historic buildings is not only a loss of heritage but also an irrevocable loss of the culture and identity of the society where these buildings are. Moreover, such undertakings are often met with public protests and demonstrations , which ultimately cause delays in projects, rise in costs, and may even lead to cancellation of the projects by the government who face the increasing public pressure.

To begin with, when a historic building is demolished for construction projects, without a doubt, herritage and identity of the culture to which the historic building is associated to is lost. If these words dont mean something to you try conjuring images of Paris without the Eiffel tower but with a new mall in its place, would it be the same paris you visitied, or would this new Paris be completely unrecognisable to you. If Paris doesn't suffice lets take up Rome, would Rome be the same with a new parking lot in place of the Colessum. Would you still visit the places if these buildings were replaced, the answer unsuprisingly a "NO". Ofcourse you can build one to one scaled imitations of these historic buildings at other places but they will be that "imitations".

Moreover, whenever such projects are announced they receive widespread criticism from the public. The construction crews and sites are surrounded by protesting people that make it either impossible or at least very difficult to work for the construction crews. This makes many contractors reluctant to take part in such projects. However, even those contractors and construction firms that do take up such projects because of demonstrations often their projects get delayed as it becomes hard to work at such sites and cost of the project also rises with the delays. Ultimately, the governments are also forced under public pressure to abandon such projects. Recently, Houston city council had to abandon its much touted multistory car park that was supposed to be built on an 18th century Cathedral. Not only this fiasco costed city council its reputation but also millions of dollars. The council had to pay to contarctors that sued them as the council had violated an initial contract by abandoning the project midway.

Defendants of the cause who support building new buildings in place of historic buildings support their argument by claiming that such constructions free up spaces in already congested areas and provide much needed infrastructure to relive stress from already stressed local infrastructure. However, this is argument is only a construct of their half-baked knowledge about urban planning. In fact to relive stress from a congested city center most planners recommend building new city centers and connecting the city to them with rapid urban transit. The same has been implemented in Manhattan ,New York, a new financial district is being construct away from the city near the suburbs and will be connected to Manhattan via dedicated metro Line.

To conclude, we can say that historic buildings are an integral part of cultural identity and herritage which cannot be replaced with any other construction on grounds of practicality.