Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take

The prompt proposes that conventional educational systems limit our minds and spirits rather than liberating them.

The thought advocated by the prompt is unequivocally justified. History is witness to this claim, there have been only a handful of free thinkers in past centuries. Formal education has always worked to fix people in to well defined roles and predetermined thinking patterns. To expect that such a system would produce a myriad of free thinkers and liberate minds of it subjects is not realistic.

Formal education traces its roots from the education system of the 14-15th centuries. At the time education was aimed at making subjects subservient to the ruling monarchs, often knowledge provided to the people were limited to certain areas and monarchs were presented in the light of god to make their authority unquestionable. This system evolved with time and today institutions have taken place of the monarchs. Education today is focussed at creating a society that does not question its institutions and accept the norms they push for society, this is complemented by limiting the affairs of public to some specific areas so they dont poke in affairs of the elite and challange the power structure of the society. As we see the system has been designed from the begining to mould people in a particular way of thinking and to ensure they don't even by mistake cross the red line.

Irrespective of cultures education has been equated to with higher incomes. This linking with monetary benefit however necessary has motivated academicians to make education more oriented towards skills and knowledge that could help people get jobs in the real world. This intrinsic motivation has taken over the entire education system and subjects like spirituality and philosophy that could help liberate minds and soul by developing individual personalities with their vast knowledge of self-reform practices, have been completely pushed out of regular school education. The aims of education have know permanently shifted to make humans an obedient workforce.

In conclusion we can say that formal education has worked to restrain our spirits and minds directly ocassionaly and indirectly persistently.