The well being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developing and s

Public criticism of the government is an important aspect of all nations irrespective of democracy or autocracy. When authorities deny to acknowledge public criticism entire governments are dissolved monarchs are toppled and presidents resign within a night. Unequivocally, active and large public criticism is the key to continuous incremental change for public welfare.

Strong Public criticism by many acts as a sword hanging above any government and persuades the government to provide better governance and improve overall conditions. Public criticism acts as a system of checks balances over the government. General perception of the government and feedback of it's policies reaches to the government which then restructures their policies for benefit of the society else it leads to even more criticism. Kalinga, a developed democracy of the east , recently has started using technology positively to conduct various polls for decision making this has given Kalingan leaders highest approval ratings since ever.

When more and more voices are heard, it is easy to pressurize the government to implement policies favoring the public. This acts as a refreshing pill for the democracy and prevents government from practicing unwarranted power. This is cardinal to any government as it prevents dictatorship either by government or by military coup. Miracles can happen when the people start speaking, instances can be drawn from the Arab Spring where decades old dictatorships were toppled by people thanks to social media providing new platforms to raise the communal voice.

Indus a nation in the west on the contrary suffers from the opposite and can serve as an example of what happens when people do not raise their voices against the government policies. Indus's government has imposed the highest taxes of anywhere in the west, government healthcare and food supply has been substituted by more costly private alternatives , gas costs twice as much anywhere ,and free speech is heavily suppressed. All because people decided to mind their own business a few years back and knelt to growing authoritarianism now they face the most dire consequences. Social scientist are already predicting its demise in a decade or so.

One aspect that often defends against excessive public rage is that the fear of public criticism leads to inability of governments to take strong decisions and pass reforms. What we must understand is that the acceptance of any change that is ultimately aimed at bringing good to the society depends upon the ability of government to tout it to the public. Any reform may be challenged at first but with talks and negotiations, they can get acceptance in the public sphere.

We can definitely say that no form of governance has survived without the will of its people; any act of defiance of public speech has toppled of dictator's and removed governments. The same criticism has evolved the public sphere positively in aspects ranging from healthcare to security and economy, provided a feedback to the authorities, maintained social order, forced governments to retract laws and decisions and is a important social marker of the development of a society.