In any situation progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take In devel

Discussion and deliberation are key to taking progressive decisions. Progress be it in any aspect of world affairs such as science, literature, religion or philosophy has relied on discussion and debate for centuries. The prompt suggests the same that progress in any situation is guided by a debate between opposing views. The thought is undoubtedly justified as contrast has always bought nuanced clarity. It is only when different sides of an issue start heavily touting their opinions and refuting others that we can reach a conclusion that can be relied upon. Upon careful deliberation by different views on a common topic, several unique views are brought to the topic, this ensures no aspect is left untouched about an issue before a solution is reached. Though it is claimed to be time-consuming, it is also true that decisions taken in haste are not fruitful.

The debate has been the foundation of progress in any field. The very nature of debate ensures this by strongly incentivizing each side to tout its opinion and refute the other's opinion on grounds of logic. It is only through debate that different conflicting nuances of an issue are brought forth by each side. In the times of famous astronomers such as Galileo and Cornspicious, the debate ensued about the revolution of the earth: whether the earth revolves around the sun or the sun revolves around the earth. This ` controversial view that the earth revolved around the sun was advocated by Galileo and Cornspicious which was not quite popular among the established thought that the world revolved around the earth. The debate that followed complemented by observations and experiments conducted by the two scientists established that earth revolved around the sun, progressing the sciences of that time.

Discussions and debates are taken up by different parties and usually different opinions are brought forth by opposite sides. This multifaceted discussion ensures that no stone is ever left unturned. Since all aspects of an issue are thoroughly discussed no point of contention is left after a conclusion is reached. This makes the decision reached from a debate of opposing sides reliable. Marinda, the not-for-profit research institute, recently surveyed how important breakthroughs in since were achieved in the past 300 years. The results of the survey concluded that all breakthroughs of the past had relied upon the most careful of deliberations for 95% of all important breakthroughs and decisions taken into consideration.

It is well-known that deliberations and discussions are quite lengthy. Many times swift decisions are favored and deliberations are viewed as unnecessary. However, it must not be forgotten that quick discussions often lead to unfavorable results. Most autocratic states are a testimony to this thought. Most autocrats involve themselves in unnecessary micromanagement and take imprudent decisions on a whim. These decisions pile up with time and lead to the collapse of their empires. Recently, an autocratic country in the east collapsed on its debt that it owed itself. The country had to capitalize on the real estate boom and incentivized loans to real estate firms. These firms took several times more loans and did not deliver projects on time. What followed was firms declaring themselves bankrupt followed by banks and then the nation was finally consumed by chaos. What we need to understand is that time spent on discussions and debate is not wasted but rather well consumed.

In conclusion, we can say that debate and discussion are key to progressive developments.