Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts Write a response in which you d

The prompt brings forth the point of contention between advocates and critics of the government funding of arts. While the proponents suggest that government funding is integral for arts to survive and to ensure that they can be brought in reach of many, the opponents claim that government funding attaches strings to artists by limiting what they can and cannot produce. Undoubtedly, government funding is a key lifeline for arts to thrive. It is not a hidden fact that most artists have to face a lot of financial struggles in their career and many of them leave the art world under pressure of financial burden. Government funding hence becomes necessary for the arts to survive. While the argument that government funding enforces restrictions on artists seems convincing at first, the same is easily refuted on further inquiry.

Most amateur artists and even seasoned experts face a lot of financial difficulties in their careers. While it becomes hard for amateur artists to sell their creations as their names are not well known in the art world, the more seasoned experts find it hard to come across new ideas regularly and making new art becomes a painfully long process. Thus, in either case an artist is bound to face financial woes. On top of this already bad situation an economic downturn collapses the demand for art in the market, as a result many artists are forced to take up other jobs to survive. As it becomes clear the life of an artist is full of vicissitudes and sometimes if an artform falls out of favor of public it may quickly vanish from the artworld as well. Hence, it becomes necessary for government to step in with funding and provide economic stability to artists and ensure that certain artforms don't go out of existence. The high cost of such an initiative becomes a point of concern for many, however the cost can be off set as government can engage in buying and selling of art, a very lucrative business. Apart from this, government owned art can be put up on exhibition even in remote cities, effectively bringing art galleries out of major metro cities making art more accessible to all.

As mentioned earlier, government funding comes with strings attached. Politicians and bureaucrats can influence what an artist can and cannot produce. However, such a view is fundamentally flawed fails to account that an artist can pursue multiple portfolio's one collection focused on getting grants and the other focused on his own artistic expression. Even in past many famous artists like Michael Angelo used to take up projects with the church for their bread and butter and pursued their interests as well. Such an approach not only allowed artists to survive but also they became more independent to pursue their artistic interests. It was only through regular stipend from church that Michael Angelo was able to create Mona Lisa as he had little to worry about financial woes and he could freely pursue his artistic vision.

To conclude, it is without a doubt that government funding of arts is very significant for the survival of arts. Even though it might come with certain strings attached it does not stop an artist from commissioning other work that reflects his artistic vision without the fear of pecuniary matters.