Claim When planning courses educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students Reason Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying Write a response in which you discuss the extent

Academic courses are planned by educators to design effective courses that would lead to greater academic success. However, most times the goal seems to be to just meet UGC(University Grants Commission) guidelines and start courses that could justify funding to the university. Eventually, this makes the courses archaic and disconnected from the latest happenings in their respective fields. In turn, students who go on to study find themselves bored and frustrated as neither they can relate to them nor they can learn anything of value that they can apply today. To solve this problem, the prompt here recommends that educators should take note of the interests and suggestions that their students give them as they would be more motivated to study when they eventually take up such courses. Undoubtedly, the thought is justified for the following reasons.

To begin with, as courses students would take up are now designed by taking into consideration their suggestions, they are more easily able to relate to them and are not easily bored or frustrated when studying them. Rather, they are motivated towards studying these courses as they are now more closely relatable. In, a recent survey conducted by Miranda research institute in over two thousand research institutes, it was found that in institutes where student choices were considered while designing courses a greater percentage of students found the curriculum engaging and were more interested in studying these courses. On the other hand, in educational institutes where children had to take up predesigned courses, it was found that a greater percentage of students were less inclined to actively take part in studies and would get bored and frustrated easily.

Secondly, interest in studies directly translates to better academic performance, which is the dream of any educator that a large portion of his students performs well on the subject matter. As students are now taking up courses in which they have greater interest their academic performance naturally improves. In the same survey aforementioned it was also found that students who were studying courses in which they had actively participated in designing them were showing better academic performance when compared to those students who were just taking up courses that were predesigned and did not involve any student participation in course planning. A better academic performance later translates into a better career which is in line with the goal of education which is to provide students with appropriate skills to get lucrative jobs. In an alumni survey conducted by the same institute, it was found that alumni from batches that gave freedom to its students to suggest changes or additions when courses were getting planned enjoyed a higher level of success in their careers when compared to those batches of students who were not given this choice.

In conclusion, we can say that taking into account student interests and suggestions into consideration when designing courses not only makes them more motivated to study but also leads to better academic performance and in turn a better career.