College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field

Higher education is one of the most important aspect of life of any individual as choices taken in higher education affect a person's career lifelong. The prompt recommends that college students choose fields of study as potential career paths where employability is high. Undoubtedly, the recommendation is justified as naturally any person would be inclined to a field of study where he can get a job easily.Neither it make any sense to pursue fields which might lead you to unemployment nor, it does not make any sense to waste your precious time and money studying such fields of study. The time you once give to study a particular field in your study years will not come back.

The goal of higher education is to make people employable for professional jobs. So, as one might expect people take up courses in college education that help them get employed post the completion of their studies. Additionally, since there are many courses to choose from students usually take up courses in colleges and universities where there are higher chances of landing a job with lucrative pay. It is evident from the tough competition for certain courses in various universities. Computer Science and Medicine are two such courses where there is very tough competition to get in. Universities usually accept a very small percentage of applicants and rejects a large number of applicants each year to these courses. Hence, without a doubt a career in a field with high employability is desirable.

The time that one spends during his college or university education are the most important years of a persons life. Furthermore, higher education is a very costly affair with tuition fees reaching above hundred thousand dollars for most courses. Taking into consideration the precious time and cost of higher education students make prudent decisions to pursue courses that can get them employed rather than going for dead fields of study that might leave them unemployed in the long run. This can also be concluded from the results of the survey conducted by the New Times(a reputed newspaper). For a batch size of five hundred thousand people it was found that students pursuing

degrees in accounting and finance, business administration, engineering or medicine were employed within first 3 months of completing their degrees, while students that had pursued courses like dance education, liberal art, or polity were not employed even after the first 6 months of completing their degrees. Moreover, they found it hard to secure lucrative jobs and were mostly employed as contractors. Only a very thin percentage of them were able to get full time employment.

However, a strong argument is put forth that one should not base his educational interests on basis of monetary interests only. A person should also seek job satisfaction, and not get frustrated from his job. But trading job security for job satisfaction is not advised either. Generally, in a recession people working in fields that suffer from chronically low levels of employment find themeselves without a jobs in months. In 2008 recession many companies had to downsize and cut their costs. So more than sixty percent of consulatants were fired these specially were from departments that included employee wellbeing, arts consultants, enviroment consultants to name a few. While, management and engineering departments were downsized by a mere twenty percent at most. So, it is quite evident that job security should not be traded for job satisfication as unemployment can frustrate a person worse than having to take up a job with low job satification.

In conclusion we can say that employability should be the norm for selecting fields of study among college students.