23 Governments should place few if any restrictions on scientific research and development

The point of contention that shall authorities minimize the restraints from scientific progress is quite debatable. It is completely justified to not limit scientific research and development in favor of accelerated growth in various sectors, development of new tech and practices, gain competitive edge over other nation states, become more self-reliant, and boost economic activity. Unquestionably the fear that grasps our mind with unrestricted scientific progress is what if we challenge the nature in process and screw-up bad. What must be understand is that science understands this much better than us and uses containment zones and thorough testing to prevent the same.

Undoubtedly, removing much of the restrains over scientific progress would equate to meteoric scientific development in all domains. New technology and practices will be developed to solve existing issues faster and may be even move issues from solving when arise to never happen. Covid-19 vaccines are the most eminent examples of how less restrains on scientific research and development can lead to accelerated development of much needed solutions of immediate issues for us potentially saving lives in millions.

21st century wars are fought not in the battlefield but by maintaining deterrence against potential wars with advanced weaponry. Nations become self-reliant with the development of technology and can potentially survive trade sanctions against them and become more independent. Fracking has made America more independent in power sector and the US government can now take a more aggressive stance in best of their interests minimizing the ability of other nation states to influence US policies. Drones are the most disruptive technology that have changed our battlefields virtually removing the human quotient from the war and giving strike anywhere around the world with the push of a button. Such developments would have been a distant dream had we taken a conservative stance towards developments leading to these technologies.

The economic boost generated from developments in technology and newer methods is not ignorable . Each time a newer method is developed for existing problems jobs are created with the expansion of the domain and more cost affordable solutions can be provided to the consumer. Be it the industrial revolution in 1800s with factories to the IT revolution since 1990s with computers and programming constructs, each time have made up the most significant part of our economies and have opened numerous job opportunities. Hence, we can say that scientific advancements not only shape our lives but are also actively shaping our future economies.

The dangers of unrestricted scientific progress challenging nature itself are not unheard of, what we fail to grasp is that any such breakthrough advancements that can potentially harm the nature for the worse are often carried out in containment zones with thorough testing before introduction to the general population for consumer usage. GM is a FMCG giant and specializes in developing new and better varieties of crops, fertilizers, and pesticides, before any new product is made available in the market is developed in isolated places and careful and thorough testing is done for many years before they can be made available.

Convincingly we can say that hindering science is not in best of our interests. Meteoric developments of technology will continue to be there either sooner or later irrespective of our acceptance of them. Self-reliance for nation states is achieved only with scientific progress of that nation not with limiting breakthroughs and become dominion of others. New technology has and will continue to be the leading contributor of our economies irrespective of the timelines. Our worst fears regarding scientific progress can be easily confronted with developing better isolation techniques and procedures, and extensive trials before introduction.