Some people believe that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student s field of study Others believe that universities should not force students to take any courses other than those that will help pr

Making it mandatory to take courses apart from majors in Universities is an appraisable effort. Unambiguously, such efforts will help in better equipping students further in their careers in a new and very demanding market. Additionally, it may also help in eliciting hidden talents and interests that might otherwise have been left dormant. A course outside of major may also shield against recession in a particular market and can help in changing career paths in future. Such a policy may be criticized for being time consuming but can offer far more benefits.

Undoubtedly, no single field can be treated in isolation all domains are connected knowledge from one field can equip us with a new prospective and amplify our existing knowledgebase of our field. Further, it may very well be the case that an individual during the course of college is able to discover his hidden talents and interests by pursuing a different course and he may even try and switch career paths. Miranda conducted a survey the last year on college students and found out that students taking part in courses in an another field were more likely to switch career paths, had better grades in majors relatively to others that did not take part in other courses and were less likely to be left nonplussed if questioned outside of their domain knowledge.

Interestingly, the cliché is in correlation with employability of a person. The job markets these days are competitive, having many skills is in demand from potential candidates, and a multitalented employee is desired. Last year alone on an average in state of Arizona candidates that applied for a job had at least 3 skills they could highlight in their CVs. Additionally, experiences gained from other fields might prove useful in case of losing job due to recession one can quickly apply for another job highlighting other skills. The financial security offered with multiple skillsets definitely makes lives more stable as evident from 2008 recession people relying on more than one skill set got quickly employed after losing their jobs. The flexibility that one can have in changing careers by having the basic knowledge of another field is also very beneficial in a world where people change their careers every 10 years.

However, it may be argued that such an endeavor may cost a student his precious time that may otherwise would have been devoted in gaining better expertise in there majors. Contrastingly, it should be noted that it is only human nature to get bored of doing the same thing repeatedly and may even decrease efficiency. Pursuing another subject may act as a stress reliever as is the case with most of students, 4 out of every 5 students take secondary courses out of there major to alleviate stress and kill boredom. Additionally, taking up secondary courses also helps students with completing credits for their degrees. Students usually prefer to take easy unrelated courses to complete their credits.

We can finally deduce that taking course out of field of study is integral for any degree it not only helps with employability but also provides better exposure to students that might have been missed other wise and completing their credits for degrees along with serving as a pill of refreshment.