Some people believe that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. Others believe that universities should not force students to take any courses other than those that will help prepare them for jobs in their chosen fields.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and

explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you

should address both of the views presented.

It is a popular notion that a variety of courses other than the students’ field of study, enhances the extant knowledge of the student and helps to boost their general awareness. They might be open to even pursue one of these in combination to their preferred study, which would prove beneficial later in their careers. Others suggest that one of these extra courses might act as potential substitute in case the students do not fare well in their chosen academic field. While it is all true of certain students or fields of study, yet this belief is not applicable to all fields of study or student types. On a closer inspection to the above concept, the loopholes to this argument become lucid.

To begin with, consider the example of a civil engineering graduate. If the student who is enrolled in a thesis program in say, water resources is asked by the university to take up a course on British history, the situation is obviously damaging for the student. Every little moment spent in the totally irrelevant subject would cost the student the precious time that could have been invested in the seemingly rigorous master thesis course. The graduate might find it difficult to manage time against the demands of the curriculum and this would eventually lead to despair, failure and dejection. To say the least, the student is likely to succeed less by studying vastly differing subjects than by focussing on the preferred course of study alone. The British history classes would do little to assist in the Water Resources graduate’s career as a potential academic. Irrational curriculum choices such as these only waste away the potential of the students. Hence universities should maintain that the students devote fully to their preferred courses instead of learning extraneous fields. Besides an university student is matured enough to choose his/her preference of field in the first place.

Moreover, it is a fact that when the focus is solely on the desired study field, the student is more likely to succeed in it. Since passion drives preseverance, deliberation comes easy to the student who pursues his/her passion. Thus, wasting away time in seemingly irrelevant subjects would deprive the student of the required stamina or motivation to focus on the chosen field. Like Antony Robbins said, “Passion is the genesis of the genius”, it is the love and fascination towards a field that bolsters the determination of budding professionals. Any student who pursues a desired course unhindered, would be more successful as opposed to the one who is forced to take up a motley of subjects that finally renders him/her with poorer grades in their actual courses. This in turn stymies their selection in jobs.

Of course there are relatable courses that can be taken up in addition to the chosen disciplene. For instance, an acting course is well complemented by a course in movie appreciation or even an extra dance or language class. This provides an edge to these particular acting class students who now have extra qualifications compared to their counterparts from another institute who do not have any, apart from the mainstream lessons on acting. The former set of students are more likely to land in a job, than the latter. However even in these situations, the students must have the option to choose their complementary courses for themselves. The university might specify the number of courses than can be taken up, but it should not be made mandatory. There might be students who feel pressured by taking up extra lessons against those who appreciate the same. Hence, the choice to pursue even relatable courses apart from the regular chosen field, should not be binding on the student.

In conclusion, any university should not make it compulsory for its students to take a variety of courses other than the chosen field. Any university student would obviously have reached the maturity and the resolve to go for the field that serves his/her future interest and aspirations the best. In that case, taking up extraneous courses made mandatory by the institute might prove detrimental to the career of the student as we have seen in the case of the civil engineering graduate example. While taking up a few relatable courses might provide an extra edge to the student in getting chosen for a job, yet that decision should be come from the students alone and no law on taking extra courses should be binding on any student. Besides, the argument that one of these extra courses might serve as a substitute in case the student fails in the chosen field, is fallible since the student is more likely to fail in the chosen field if he/she is distracted by a pastiche of incongruous subjects. At any rate, the choice should be of the student’s whether or not to pursue an extra course.