Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and

explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you

should address both of the views presented.

Because of the myriad of choices and the violent competition to secure a promising future, students are often torn between pursuing a field they love and the one that possesses the maximum assurance of a sustainable job opportunity. During such tumultuous times when choosing a field becomes necessary, most heartfelt desire of most students is to pursue a line that intrests them the most, and to land in a lucrative job in that field. However, that is quite an ideal world. In reality, both passion and a job are seldom offered in the same platter and that scenario is only reserved for a fortunate few. Hence while deciding which course to follow, much deliberation and discernment is required and students need to find a viable balance between their own preferences and the job market. However, it is a necessary truth that without passion, one can hardly endure a job however lucrative, because one does not find the drive to work relentlessly and productively.

While the job market is obviously a concern for securing a stable future, yet passion eventually appears to be the larger determinant while seeking a field. This is because, passion drives and motivates one to pursue a field relentlessly. Success comes easy as one can find the fervor to assiduously follow the suject. One can be at peace with oneself if the desired fields are pursued since it elicits interest and brings joy. In contrast, pursuing a field forcibly makes one suffer the brunt of its consequences. The subject appears dull and uninteresting, the student eventually looses the vigour to pursue it, and even landing at a job makes living difficult to endure. The history is repleate with such examples. For instance, Jean Tirole is an influential economist today and considered a potential Nobel prize winner. It was after he received a Ph.D in mathematics in Paris that he decided to abandon his field and pursue what he likes. He enrolled in a Ph.D program in Economics from MIT nad obtained his second major. He is now a great economist. Had he pursued Mathematics, the world would have been bereft of his talent and the contributions in Economics. College students are therefore required to thoroughly examine the options and pursue the one that taps their endowed talent. Talent never goes wasted.

Furthermore, we have other examples of successful and passionate entrepreneurs and world personalities who started off small but contributed enormously in the fields they pursued. The one thing that binds Mark Zuckerberg, Walt Disney, Bill Gates, Oprah Winfrey and Steve Jobs is that each one of these personalities followed what they loved. Although each were overwhelmed by the hitches and thorns in their chosen paths at one time or the other, none gave up to pursue easier and more lucrative job fields. Because they followed their passion, the world has been endowed with their

variegated contributions. These personalities demonstrate that with passion, be it in any field, it is possible to soar high.

Even though sometimes it is the financial burden in the form of education loans, or family responsibilities that drives students to seek careers that can benefit financially from, yet in the long run passion turns out to be a deciding factor as to whether they can sustain it the field. Many a times, people are thrown into a sorrowful state of desolation and dejection because they do not derive the joy out of their work. They finally leave their jobs after some period of working and eventually set up businesses they like.

In conclusion, for a student the path to success is riddled with many contradictory options and choices. For the reasons discussed above, students should not choose a field of study based on insecurity. It is talent and the accompanying passion that ultimately decides success.