Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The goal of any education system is to impart a child the rules and laws of nature, the sciences behind the functioning of the world, the causes and consequences of the historic events, the meaning of the poems and art, etc. In short, a child is taught whatever has been already established, philosophized, ideated, debated or postulated. Right from the time his parents nurture him with the principles, morals and behavior conforming to the societal and cultural mores, to the time the child is taught about the laws of addition and multiplication in his school he is trained to only absorb the already established, the rules, and the norms. When the child grows up, the mental set up would be to succeed by gobbling up facts, charts and laws. Seldom is the child encouraged to think outside what is established or deemed proper. Seldom is he exhorted to question the reasons behind the laws and rules, the rationale behind the prayers he is made to recite, or discover a flaw in concluded reasoning. Formal education whether it starts at home or school, tend to restrain our minds and spirits, rather than set them free.

By the time when the child reaches his high school, he has been trained and moulded not to question the unknown and never to seek the untold mysteries. Through tests and examinations, he is wrought to memorize, answer and score high in order to succeed. The grades decide their future. Homework, assignments and bulky textbooks, all resonate the importance of scoring high. And regardless of whether it is peer or parental pressure, or self consciousness, the student would try his best to keep abreast of the competition. Even when the student scores high, he is again made to take tests and competitive exams for securing an admission to a prestigious college. This is again repeated when he would seek admission into a university, or a sustaining job. In short, the life of a child is bound within the realm of competition and at each step, it will be his base, his formal education that will determine his success rate. The skills developed in the formative years determine how the child will sustain in the world.

Rabindra Nath Tagore, the Nobel laureate established an institution called ‘Shantiniketan’ wherein pupils would not be bound within the four walls of a classroom, but instead obtain education in the lap of nature. Tagore was of the view that the inquisitve minds of children needs to be tapped, need to be allowed to expand and be imaginative. It was this thought that drew him to open an institution where students can question, create, imagine and feel the bounty of nature. This simplicity and unrestrained independence of the soul was successful in rejuvenating the souls of the young and adult students alike. We need institutions like Shantiniketan to have a holistic education and not just formal, mechanized education that curbs our imagination and restrain the soul within us.

Formal education in countries like Finland and Norway are particularly different from most other nations. Forbes Magazine cites that these countries have the best education policies and state that they produce highly efficient scholars and professionals. Well, the secret lies in their approach towards educating students holistically during their formative years. They do not confine students within classrooms or urge them to devour textbooks. Instead, the students during their early years of education are seldom made to study the textbooks. They are taken out into the world to see things for real, to learn by being in close contact with the world outside, lets them imagine and question the things they find amiss. This enhances their perspectives, and teaches them to find an answer to whatever they think is lacking. This urges them to innovate, discover, and make contributions necessary for the world around them.

Finally, any kind of restrained formal education confines the majority of us to concentrate only on materialistic and putative goals. It lends us a parochial mind, that is unable to be stretched beyond what is taught within the curriculums. This limits the independence of our thoughts and imaginations. Hence formal education restrains our minds and spirit rather than set them free.