The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds andpedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The above argument appears to be based on a number of facile assumptions. There seems to be several unanswered questions that need to be highlighted. First, it does not address the question whether the accidents in Balmer Island that involve mopeds or pedestrians might arise out of general ignorance of the traffic safety rules or other relatable issues. In that case, reducing the number of mopeds during the summer season would not do much in lessening the rate of accidents. It is also not clear whether there would be any alternatives to mopeds in Blamer Islands, or what impact would the reduction in the limits have on the tourism industry. Besides, it failed to answer whether the Seaville’s town council incorporated any other measures than only enforcing similar limits on moped rentals, because of which the rates of accidents have declined. Taking these unanswered issues into consideration, it becomes highly uncertain whether the speaker’s recommendations would bear the predicted results.

At the very beginning, the argument gives us an acccount of the influx of tourists during the summer months to the Balmer Islands and informs about the most popular means of transportation in the Island. It then seems to quickly escalade, to relate the two as a cause of the accidents occuring in Balmer Island during the summer. Here itself, the argument misses to elucidate on the following two points. First, whether the accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians occur only during the summer months or whether they are frequent in the rest of the years too. Second, whether these accidents are a result of the riders’ negligence, or whether it is the general apathy of the inhabitants or tourists to the traffic safety rules, or due to unfavorable road conditions. These issues to be answered because, if at all the accidents are a common feature in the rest of the year too, then restricting the moped rentals only during the summer months would not help reduce the overall rate. Also, if the second point is not thoroughly investigated, then only by enforcing restrictions on the rentals would not help solve the issue off accidents. Other concerned measures like improving the road conditions or increasing the awareness of the public and tourists, penalizing the culpable riders, etc., would be additionally required to curb the number of accidents in Blamer Island.

The argument clearly states that mopeds form a popular means of transportation in the area. But again it lacks an answer to whether there would there be any alterative to the mopeds during the summers, if limits on the rentals are imposed. It does not state whether the transportation system might be hampered without the mopeds. Besides, the argument neglects the fact that due to the limitations on a popular means of transport, the might also be an effect on the tourism industry during the summer months.

Finally, the comparison between the neighboring island Seaville’s town council and that of Balmer Island’s too, contains a few loopholes. The speaker does not elucidate on the fact whether it was solely by implementing the limits on moped rentals that reduced the accidents, or whether there were other factors too. The facts like a reduction in overall population of Seaville, or massive traffic safety awareness drives, or improvement in the road conditions etc, are quite likely to have been taken place. The argument thus presents an incomplete picture in this regard.

The above flaws in the argument seriously impairs its credibility. The speaker would have cited reliable data or statistics on the relation that it draws between the restrictions on moped rentals and reduction of accidents thereof. The arguement would have benefited by providing an alternative to the mopeds by which the transportation system would continue uninterrupted. Moreover, the comparison of the issue with a neighboring island, could have been more relatable if further analysis were provided on the achievements of the later. Therefore, in the absence of these few points, the recommendations made in the argument cannot be said to yield the intended results.