A recent study reported that pet owners have longer, healthier lives on average than do people who own no pets. Specifically, dog owners tend to have a lower incidence of heart disease. In light of these findings, Sherwood Hospital should form a partnership with Sherwood Animal Shelter to institute an adopt­ a­ dog program. The program would

encourage dog ownership for patients recovering from heart disease, which should reduce these patients' chance of experiencing continuing heart problems and also reduce their need for ongoing treatment. As a further benefit, the publicity about the program would encourage more people to adopt pets from the shelter. And that will reduce the incidence of heart disease in the general population.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The above argument makes several unwarranted assumptions. Although it cites a fair number evidences to corroborate its claim, yet it overlooks some critical factors that might potentially reduce the rationality of the argument.

To begin with, there is no mention of how consistent the study report cited in the argument, was. The lack of any reference to the focus of the study on the group and type of people surveyed, or its demographic or geographic spread, questions the credibility the study. It is possible that the study was confined to a single neighbourhood, or it might have been conducted across several states, across several cultures. In the former case, the group of people surveyed was apparently too less than the latter, and any conclusion reached by surveying the smaller group would be too putative to be accepted as definite. It was also not eucidated in the argument as to how genuinely the study was conducted or how reliable its reports are. Hence without being certain about the exact nature of the study and the measure of its coverage, one cannot assume its feasibility.

The argument further assumes that because dog owners have shown lesser incidences of heart disease, a partnership between Sherwood Hospital and Sherwood Animal Shelter should be able to address the issue of continuing heart problems of the former’s patients. However, it ignores the consideration whether the dog owners in question have other problems they might suffer from, or even whether adopting a dog is ameanable for all types of heart patients. Some of the hospital’s heart patients might simply be put off by dogs or might be terrified of any animal for that matter. In such a case, asking them to adopt a dog will do more harm than cure their problems. Besides, it is inconclusive whether dogs are not breeders of other potential diseases.

Moreover, the assumption that the adopt-a-dog program would encourage people to adopt pets from the shelter is unjustified. There can be no gurantee on the public perception of this program. If the hospital’s heart patients do not benefit from adopting a dog, there is little possibility that the public will be eager to adopt a pet. Besides, in today’s world there are bound to be competition and some negative publicity on virtually any sort of program espoused by any organisation. What if the competetors of Sherwood Hospital or Sherwood Animal Shelter jumps in for the same, and infact succeed in distancing people from the whole program? Besides, if indeed the program designed to adopt dogs is proved as successful, still there is the lingering uncertainty whether adopting any pet would be equally beneficial. In that case, what if all the dogs get adopted while say, the cats are left behind, uncared and abhored because they do no good for our health?

In conclusion, the argument fails to address several issues that leaves one dubious regarding the feasibility of the claim made. Due to the inconclusive character of its reasons, the argument appears facile and irrational. On the contrary, had it been corroborated by specific data on the cited study, the pros and cons of the suggested measure for the hospital, a thorough analysis on the future agenda, argument would have been bolstered.