Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Any country, being a dynamic entity, is subject to changes in every aspect be it governance, security, trade and economy, transportation, education and so on. The laws governing these aspects need to be kept abreast of time. They should be at par with the changes and need to be flexible enough to permit optimum development in all the concerned spheres. Laws need to be ameanable and changes in law are vital for all round progress and upliftment of the human society. Furthermore, constitutions of most nations are ammended for the sole reason, to make the country keep pace with the developments and changes.

To begin with, changes in laws are necessary so that they may adapt to the changing human awareness. With time, generations change and and so does their views and perceptions, or schools of thought. As civilisations progress, human beings become enlightened, more awared and concerned. The once primitive rules or laws that governed them, seems absurd and irrational. A change in the laws becomes necessary to adjust with the evolved ideas and reasoning of the now enlightened society. Consider the example of homosexual marriage. The thing that was once seen as a taboo throughout the world, is now accepted and been legalised by many countries. Other examples include the change in people’s persective of abortion, or even smoking. Laws have been ammended, to permit or abolish the customs with changing perspective or the world view. The laws therefore need to be pliable to suit the changing societal perspectives.

Another reason why laws need to change is the change in technologies. We are aware of how rapidly the field of technology is progressing and how fast the dangers associated with it are evolving as a consequence. For instance, the technology of cameras hidden in pens or shirt button or mobile phones posed the threat of illegal encroachment on the privacy of people. Another example is the possession of nuclear arms. The aftermaths of the catastrophic attack on Hiroshima and Nagasaki, were disastrous. These strides were obviously invented keeping in mind the issue of progress, but they are all so prone to cause damage if used illegaly. From the seemingly innocuous mobile camera to the atom bomb, technology can prove detrimental if it is continued to be unchecked. Hence laws need to change with the changing technology. They need to be modified to secure their illegal usage or encroachment.

Laws also need to be scrutinised and changed to suit the changing expectations of the legal system. They need to be reformed. For instance, earlier, people believed in hanging culprits to death for reasons like standing up against their dictator or ruler, and thought it was just. But with the bent towards protection of human and individual rights, humanitarian groups have become more concerned about such issues and claim that the rights are violated when a person is punished so severely for petty reasons. Many see hanging of even terrorists as barbaric and wants it abolished. Laws of many nations have yeilded to these changing expectations and have laxed the severity of the punishment to certain crimes. People are no more scared to point out the drawbacks of their governments or voice differing opinions. This brings about a trust among the people in their legal system. Another example is of the defamation charges, where people demand stricter laws to prevent the meaningless slandering of someone in power or authority. Thus laws need to be changed in order to change the legal system and make it more rational and just, and also to regulate people’s behavior.

In conclusion, a country needs laws to sustain its growth in all the sectors. But with growth and changes in human perspectives, laws need to be ammended and regulated often. With every kind of progress, there emerges newer problems that need to be checked. While sometimes it is the illegal technological power that needs to be regulated, at other times it is the evolving nature of human civilisation or their perceptions that need to be addressed by changing laws. Sometimes laws are also needed to regulate people’s behaviour. Thus, a change in laws in vital to be ensure a secure future.