Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument.

A recent study shows that people living on the continent of North America suffer 9 times more chronic fatigue and 31 times more chronic depression than do people living on the continent of Asia. Interestingly, Asians, on average, eat 20 grams of soy per day, whereas North Americans eat virtually none. It turns out that soy contains phytochemicals called isoflavones, which have been found to possess disease-preventing properties. Thus, North Americans should consider eating soy on a regular basis as a way of preventing fatigue and depression.

The above argument seems to be based on several unwarranted assumptions and hence, is not logically convincing. The speaker in a bid to promote the consumption of soy in North America, relates to a study which was not verified in the argument, to have been conducted uniformly in either of the mentioned continents. The fallacy of the argument also lies in the fact that it presumes soy to be the sole remedy to all the depression and fatigue faced by North Americans. Besides, the fact whether Asians were indeed benefited from the soy or whether their improved performance was due to other lifestyle or dietary choices was too, not explicit. The argument also was not lucid about whether soy might be the for-bearers of other types of diseases, or whether isoflavones were indeed helpful to curb the depression or fatigue problems in the first place.

First of all, the extent of the population or countries in either North America or Asia that the study cited by the speaker covered, were nowhere mentioned in the argument. It may have been conducted only in most prominent and highly industrialized North American countries like the United States where the hectic work-life balance might lead citizens to face chronic depression. In this case, no dietary changes might work to reduce the fatigue or depression more than the lax in work environment maybe. It is quite possible that the study focused on the countries with minimum growth rate and faces acute shortage of employment opportunities or is rife with internal instability issues like Cuba or Mexico. The lack of opportunities and insufficiency would be reasons for depression in residents of such environments. These people may be more benefited by a stable government or more better access to employment opportunities than consuming soy that would do little help in alleviating economic crisis and hence the depression arising out of it. Also, what if soy is not cultivated in these countries? Importing soy from other countries would prove onerous on the already shaky economy of these countries.

A similar analogy can be made of Asian countries on the grounds that the study might have only concentrated on countries like China, Hong Kong, Japan, Thailand or other South-East Asian nations whose diet includes a substantial amount of soy as opposed to the diet of other Asian nations like India, Sri Lanka or those in the middle East. Moreover, any casual check on the net would reveal the harrowing percentage of suicides in Asia, even in the soy-eating nations. It is thus not plausible to state a cogent relation between soy in the diet and the elimination of chronic depression or fatigue. On the contrary, there might be other reasons why Asians might perform better like exercising more, doing yoga or meditation, consumption of less proteins and junk food, or simply having a more stable political government. None of these other alternative lifestyle activities or situations featured in the argument as being considered in the study.

Other than the above loopholes, the argument also lacked data on how it arrived to conclude that soy is the sole remedy for both chronic depression and fatigue. Moreover it states that isoflavones contain disease preventing properties, but fails to elucidate whether isoflavones also help curb depression or fatigue or both. Also, whether the phytochemical is safe for consumption in North American climates or environment that is vastly different from that of Asia’s, also remained unanswered. Besides, one will definitely question whether isoflavones if it indeed does benefit the depression and fatigue ridden North Americans, also give rise to other side effects which might be even more acute than the ones already prevalent. Finally, assuming that the study was homogeneous all over North America and Asia and that the speaker’s assertions come out true, even then the question on how long the soy consumption would continue to benefit North Americans, would still linger on.

In conclusion, the argument would have been made more credible by stating how much area and population the study covered in both the continents. This was possible also by citing reliable data or by providing medical statistics maybe, on the working of soy in curbing the problems of chronic depression and fatigue or how effectively the phytochemical would work on the health of typical North Americans. Besides, the argument would have benefited by citing a comparative study between following the other depression alleviating activities and consumption of soy. It would have also provided the cons of having soy in the diet to be more credible.