Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The world’s wilderness, or forests constitute about 31 percent of the total land cover. They are the figurative lungs of the world, that takes in the Carbon Dioxide and generates Oxygen. Apart from that, 80 percent of terrestrial biodiversity and about 200 million human tribes resides in and depend on the forests. With the forests being depleated in severe measures today, we are loosing the single most treasure trove that was handed so free to us. Hence, it is an urgent necessity that we preserve them. Any nation should and must strictly legislate against the clearing of its natural wilderness.

World Wildlife Fund reveals that around 46,000 square miles o forests are cleared every year. That equals the size of 48 football fields being cleared every minute. This presents a scary picture, because forests not only control the climate, but also the water cycle in the area apart from a host of other factors. They support an enormous figure of tribal human population who thrives on these forests. Industrial companies exploiting these habitats are often caught up with acute conflict with these indigenous people. Besides clearing of wilderness areas imply rising of global warming since deforstation accounts for 15% of all greenhouse gas emissions. Felling trees would lead to erosion and landslides, an example of which we have witnessed in the form of the Uttarakhand massacre in India in 2010. Hence, I strongly believe efficacious laws should be enacted and implemented to protect and preserve any area of wilderness by all national and federal governments. This should be an immediate agenda of all governments. Norway, being the first ever country to successfully ban deforestation to protect its wild, has rightly paved the way for others to follow. Besides, any preserved wilderness areas like sanctuaries, can act as tourist spots. This ensures a boost to the economy of the nation.

There are obviously hindrances on the way for a governmental nature preservation law to be effective. Industrialisation that is highly dependent on forest goods and requires clearing of the wilderness land is often stymied by such laws that prohibits the same. Also, many developing countries grapple with over-population problems that leads to clearing of forest land for settlements, agriculture, grazing of livestock and so on. Factors like these often lead to inefficient implementation of laws for forest land protection.Indonesia serves as a glaring example of this problem. This nation ranks second only to Brazil as the world’s largest deforestor. The numerous laws passed against the destructive practise have been hugely ineffective so far.

However, studies on the problems of both Brazil and Indonesia have revealed that the governments are themselves culpable for the failure of their laws. For instance, one study says that Indonesian government tried paying hefty sums to the small landowners to protect the forest lands surrounding their agricultural plots. This plan backfired, as the landowners instead starting to illegally pay this money to labourers to log trees from the neighbouring wilderness to sell which apparently was more profitable. Hence, national laws can never be efficacious unless the makers are able to foresee the potential of these laws to be misused or exploited. Norway, on the other hand has proved how effective legislation for preserving natural lands are possible by imposing a strict ban on deforestation. Not only that, this Scandinavian country also funds nations like Brazil, Guyana, and Liberia to incentivize them towards saving forests. Hence, Norway is one living proof that national laws can be implemented with successs. The only fact is that these laws need to be free from loopholes and unwarranted means to achieve the intended result. Norway also has made its industrial companies to cease dependence on forest goods and instead innovate alternative ways to carry their business.

Finally, Greenpeace USA maintains that the world we live in today is witnessing the sixth great extinction, deforestation and loss of natural forest habitat being the greatest reason for it. Unless we make strides to preserve these lands, we are are bringing in our own doom. It is highly essential that all nations take serious measures to protect any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state. Laws to protect natural habitats seem to be one of the ways this can be implemented. Other methods would be to curb population rates, a widespread awareness program among the population, control the pace of industrialisation and instead adopt environmentally benign ways for development, and so on. While many have failed to implement successful laws, countries like Norway has proved that it is not impossible to achieve these tasks, if a strong legislation is achieve the same.