Young people should be encouraged to pursue long­term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

‘Long term goals’ suggests the ones that require long periods of devotion and dedication to materialize. ‘Realistic’ on the other hand, means those goals which are achievable, or feasible to realize. The above statement is based on the notion that immediate fame and recognition are improvident and impracticable. However the catch here is, neither are all long term goals realistic, nor are all short term successes unrealistic. One can only agree partly to the statement, given the black-or-white impression it delivers. One has to rationally examine the reality, to come to a conclusion.

To begin with, it is common to believe that young adults need to be trained to be insightful when it comes to career choices and pursue goals that are achievable. Although it sounds ideal and prudent, yet not all people possess the drive, persistence and patience to relentlessly hound a subject. Some are inherently adapted to doggedly pursue an ambition, while most others lack that virtue. In many cases when the realisation of the goal is too far away, long term planning often turns out futile when the student becomes overwhelmed by monotony and eventually looses the vigour to pursue it any longer. Most often, long term ambitions turn out far-fetched and putative. Consider the case of a young pupil who is moulded to become a scientist in order to be able solve the world’s issues. Suppose, he spends half his career pondering to find a cure to a rare disease and eventually finds one after decades of facing innumerable experimental failures and misutilisation of funds granted to him. Next, suppose his remedy is declared to be ineffective after a few years, by other researches. Will the work of the scientist then, be worth all the time, money, and his dedication? The short-lived, and that too, pyrrhic victory of the scientist is all but useless. Hence, not all long term goals are efficacious and not all of them really contribute anything worthwhile to the world.

Besides, short term fame and recognition can sometimes kindle the zeal and incentivize people to do more such activities. J.K. Rowling was a verdant writer whose very first Harry Potter book was hugely acclaimed by readers. It surged its way it to top the list of bestselling children books at that time. Her instant fame drove her to write more and she never had to look back after that. Now the author, who was termed the world’s first female billionaire author, is an ardent philanthropist and supporter of an array of organisations. The gist here is, short term fame can actually propell one to reach out for something greater and nobler than many long term goals can.

Furthermore, not all people seeking immediate fame can be stereotyped as benighted, or corrupt. Sure, there are venal police officers, corporate managers, politicians, and a whole bunch of thugs in all sorts of sectors and with all kinds of countenances. There are people in all sectors who resort to bribery and other kinds of malfeasance to climb up the ladder within a short tenure. However, that should not drive us to assume that is true for every other case. For instance, we have a number of ingenuous actors with over the night success rates after their debut appearances. We also have many of such actors who are great philanthropists and support several causes. In fact some of these people are contributing way too much than certain indiosycretic scientists who waste away in their labs.

To sum up, the distinction between long term goals and instant fame depends on several parameters. The above statement is fallible as it assumes that only one of the two choices can be helpful in a young person’s career. It could be possible that the purpose of pursuing long term goals become redundant by the time the person actually realises it. At other times, the person may be tired and be overcome by ennui such that the zeal and fervor eludes him/her. The statement appears putative because it does not consider the merits that one might accrue even while pursuing immediate fame or recognition.