The well ­being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

From the first governing heads of early human clusters to democracy, the underlying principle of governance has remained the same – to serve the society and to solve its problems. When representatives are chosen to form governments, the electing multitude pin their hopes on the capabilities, policies, and qualities of the former. From the ones in authority, the general public expect their desires to be fulfilled, their interests to be served, their conditions to be improved, and their security to be enhanced. In case the authority fails to live up to the motley of expectations, the public needs to be able to question their performance. This ability to question fallible policies, demand explanations, and the power to vote out inept representatives, ensures that the power holders work safe and avoid any kind of malfeasance. However, unrestricted questioning and too many demands from the public may have its downsides in that it may lead to a inadequate functioning of the government, and create circumstances. Hence, the ability to question the government should be regulated and well balanced to ensure mob participation only up to the extent that it is considered sustainable.

Oscar Wilde rightly said, “Discontent is the first step towards the progress of a man or a nation.” The benefits of public participation is necessary for ensuring that the ones in authority function efficiently and serve the purposes they were chosen to deliver. The public needs to possess the right to question and demand justification of the policies and strategies of the governing bodies. Now this questioning may have a variety of natures – public appeals through referendums, non-violent strikes, boycott, marches, protests, or may be as extreme as vandalism or riots. Whatever be the form, the right to question is deemed necessary for situations like venality, malfeasance, encroachment on public privacy, fallacious agreements that may be detrimental to the stability of the society, racism, hegemony, thoughtless natural exploitation, and so on.

The Civil Rights Movement, the Indian independence, French Revolution, are all where public appeals, demonstrations, strikes, protests, non-violent disobedience movements, have proven advantageous to get rid of all that was unjust and debauched governance, or subjugation. Public appeals in India to obtain a right to information, finally yeilded fruit when the RTI Act was passed in 2005. Similarly, women rights issues, homosexual marriages, privacy acts, have all been the result of public appeals in different parts of the world. Furthermore, the history is rife with examples of presidents and leaders being forced to step down by the public for their mallicious activities. In the history of USA, removal of President Nixon, and opposition to Vietnam War are two big instances that portray the power of public questioning and freedom of expression. Besides, Switzerland is a country which

However, one cannot unconditionally agree that public appeals, demands and remonstrations, can all be necessary or be advantageous. Too much of power vested in public may be instead detrimental. We are aware of the fallacy of certain referendums like Proposition 13 in the state of California. While there might be certain benefits, the recent referendum for Brexit is an example that is thought to be injudicious and impetuous. In such circumstances are a result of ill-informed voters who are seldom aware of the implications of their votes. California almost went bankrupt because of its referendums that the public misused. UK may have to face a lot of issues regarding economy and immigration because of Brexit. These situations highlight how too much power in public can have adverse effects. Moreover, there a lot of instances where public remonstrations were not rational or even necessary. Besides, there may be fringe groups who would always want to exhort the governing bodies to listen to their demands and to approve of their vile, narrow, interests. This cannot be tolerated and any government who heeds to such demands, will create lawlessness in the country. Moreover, it was aptly said “The public has an insatiable curiosity to know everything, except what is worth knowing.” This trait of the common multitude urge them to pose questions on whatever they wish to. This may infact lead to encroachment on private matters of governance. For instance, too much curiosity in the defense system of the nation will lead them to question and hook up unwanted controversies that may hamper the security of a nation. Hence, not all types of questions and not too much to questioning are helpful for the governance.

To sum up, effective governance is possible only when the public concentrates on asking the right amount of questions and, on the right kind of matters. From the above it is clear that while some questions and appeals bolster the system of governance and puts a check on its efficacy, at the same time there are other types of demands that may ruin the stability of the entire nation. Also too much power on the public sometimes aggravate the situation than do good. Hence, a society is only enhanced when it poses the right questions.