The following appeared in an editorial in a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. Opponents note that last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. Their suggested alternative proposal is adding a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, it is argued, thereby reducing rush-hour traffic."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The above editorial appears to contain a number of flawed assumptions regarding the proposals to reduce the commuting times during the rush-hour traffic. Additionally, the acute deficit of adequate evidence to corroborate the stated claims makes the argument appear imprudent and fallacious. Taken together, the argument is rendered suspect by the lack of cogency and credibility therein.

To begin with, the speaker fails to provide justification that alternative options like a flyover or dependence on public transportations like trains or metros are not more feasible, instead of either widening the highway or adding a bicycle lane to ease commuting. Moreover, there is no mention why the motorists’ lobby came up with the proposal to widen the highway; whether they thoroughly circumspected the pros and cons of the scheme or whether it was only a glib, superficial thought that provoked them to propose so, or whether they has some vested interest behind the plan. Without being aware of the reasons behind the suggestion placed by the motorists’ lobby, one cannot be sure whether to discard or consider it. It is possible that the lobby indeed has justifying reasons for holding that opinion.

Furthermore, the author does not elucidate whether the opponent’s claim regarding the addition of a lane to Green Highway is valid even for Blue Highway. Both the highways maybe fundamentally different in conditions, may encounter contrasting situations or volume of traffic, and so on. Hence, without the validation that the two highways are similar, one cannot simply presume that the addition of an extra lane will entail the same consequences in the Blue highway as that in Green. Besides, the alternative proposal may not really viable for implementation. Since the editorial mentions that the highway connects the suburbs and the city centre, it is likely that the distance is unfeasible for commuting on cycle. Hence, without being lucid on the viability (with regard to distance) of the said proposal, there is no way we can infer the plausibility of the alternative suggestion.

Further, only because ‘many’ area residents are keen bicyclists, we cannot assume they will actually prefer cycling the entire distance on the highway. They may actually prefer commuting by cars, buses or trains. There is no guarantee that the suggestion from the opponents will encourage them to cycle. Besides, what about the rest of the residents who are not ‘keen’ to cycle in the first place? Hence, without the appropriate statistics, and a reliable survey that substantiates the states claims, it is not prudent to assume either proposal.

In essence, the two states proposals do not necessarily serve to arrive at a cogent decision. Unless the the unstated assumptions are addressed or the concomittant doubts verified, the argument stands suspect. Had the argument presented reliable data to corroborate the two proposals, it ould have been easier to evaluate the two.